Limerick Player Profiles

Diarmuid Sheehy

A loyal and true stalwart of Rearcross FC through the years, Diarmuid captained Rearcross to a memorable Tipperary Cup title win over Blackcastle in 2007. Diarmuid followed in his brother Liam’s footsteps wearing the Limerick jersey with distinction and enjoyed a sterling football career with Limerick, playing at U-21 level for two seasons and then progressing to Senior ranks winning two McGrath Cup medals in a senior career spanning from 1998 to 2005. The Cappamore Club man also played in three Munster Senior Football Finals against Kerry losing out following a replay in Killarney in the latter of the three encounters. Diarmuid was selected on the 2001 Dublin Blue Stars team while playing with a Lucan Sarsfields team.

Ciaran Carey

An outstanding centre-back, Ciaran Carey is often regarded as one of the greatest players never to have won an All-Ireland medal. Nonetheless he enjoyed a successful playing career at club level with Patrickswell and at inter-county level with Limerick. He was a key member of the Limerick team during the 1990s and collected two Munster titles, two National Hurling League titles and three All-Star awards.

Joe Quaid

Goalkeeper Joe Quaid enjoyed a sterling career with Limerick Senior Hurlers winning two Munster Senior Titles in 1994 and 1996 and was part of a Limerick team that deserved an All-Ireland title but were luckless to lose two finals in a three year spell. The Limerick net-minders outstanding contribution was recognised with two All Star Awards in 1994 and 1996. Joe went on to claim National honours after clinching a League Title with Limerick in 1997

Leo O'Connor

The Claughaun player was a member of the Limerick senior team from 1989 to 1994 winning a Munster Senior title in 1994 before losing out to Offaly in the All Ireland Final. Leo won an All-Ireland U-21 title with Limerick in 1987 in what was the county’s first U-21 title. The Claughan Clubman managed the Limerick U-21 team for a three year period guiding the Treaty side to a Munster title in 2011.

Mike Lonergan

Cappamore’s Mike Lonergan played minor hurling for Limerick before going on to play three campaigns on the trot at U-21 level for the Treaty County. The highlight of Mike’s hurling career came with back to back National League Hurling titles firstly against Wexford in 1984 and then a win over Clare in 1985. Mike also won seven East Senior Hurling medals with Cappamore and was luckless to lose out following a replay in the 1988 County Final. Mike is no stranger to soccer encounters in Rearcross and was a stalwart of a renowned Crough Rovers team in the seventies and early eighties.

Tommy Barrett

The Limerick City player is currently plying his trade with Athlone Town in the Airtricity League and previously played for Shamrock Rovers and Limerick FC in the League of Ireland. Tommy was also part of a Fairview Rangers side that won a historic three FAI Junior Cup titles in a row in 2002, 2003 and 2004 respectively and added a fourth FAI Junior Cup title in 2010. Tommy also coached Rearcross FC teams during the 2007/2008 season.