Match Results & Reports

Gurtagarry 1 - Rearcross 'B' 0

Latteragh was the venue for this Third Division league game between Gurtagarry and Rearcross 'B' with the home team claiming the win on a slender one nil margin. The visitors made the first incision in the 9th minute when Theo English linked up with Liam Ryan who set up Shane Quigley, however the Gurtagarry keeper made the save. The woodwork denied Gurtagarry four minutes later with the follow up effort lodging in the side netting. Shane Quigley and Martin Pierce came close for Rearcross on 18 and 24 minutes respectively, however Gurtagarry got what proved to be the all important goal nineteen minutes before the break when Michael Ryan's effort finished over the line despite the best efforts of Sean Sheehy. The Rea boys kept pressing and Liam Ryan's cross from the left was met by Shane Quigley, however the ball finished in the side netting. Rearcross made a strong finish to the half as Declan O'Toole's shot was on target with five minutes remaining, however the Gurtagarry shot stopper made the block and then Liam Nolan was in the action seconds later only to be denied again by the keeper. Second half substitute Paul Murphy was on the pitch a matter of seconds when his curling effort was just outside the upright. A good move involving Paul Murphy, Liam Ryan and Liam Nolan saw the latter shoot wide of the far post. Rearcross had their fair share of possession after this and came close with further efforts from Paul Murphy and Declan O'Toole, however it wasn't to be on the day for a determined Rearcross outfit who deserved more for their efforts but finished second best on the day.

Rearcross 'B': Sean Sheehy, Theo English, John Ryan Luke, Shane Reynolds. James Deegan, Declan O'Toole, Liam Nolan(B), Darren Quigley, Martin Pierce, Liam Ryan, Shane Quigley.
Subs Used: Paul Murphy, Aidan Long, Darragh Kennedy
Subs Not Used: William Mackey, Darragh Ryan Luke, Brian Carew

Referee: Johnny Mitchell