Match Results & Reports

Sallypark 'A' 1 - Rearcross 'A' 1
(Sallypark 'A' won 4-2 on penalties)

Rearcross travelled to Sallypark Odrans FC grounds in this FAI Junior Cup 2nd round encounter. Rearcross seemed to have gained momentum in the first few minutes as Derek O Toole linked up well with Michael O`Gorman who whipped in an inviting cross. Liam Ryan shot narrowly wide from the cross however. It was not all one way traffic as Sallypark had their own effort in the 11th minute but this was off target on this occasion. A long kick out from Sean Sheehy fell to Micheal O Gorman who shot wide. Michael O Gorman was then involved in the 18th minute when good build up play from Liam Ryan and Evan Gleeson saw the ball end up at O'Gormans feet. His shot this time saved by the Sallypark net minder. The breakthrough finally came in the 21st minute when Matt Ryan found Robert Harrington who rounded the ‘keeper and slotted home. Sallypark battled back and in the 26th minute shot just wide of post. Again Sallypark had an effort on goal but Sean Sheehy was equal to the test and blocked with a diving save. The second half was less exciting with a dull opening 20 minutes. On the 70th minute mark Sallypark skimmed the crossbar. Sallypark were awarded a penalty 6 minutes later which was converted to leave the sides level at one all. This is the way the match finished. Sallypark went on to win the Penalty Shoot-out on a score line of 4-2, Mark Hogan and Michael O'Gorman were the Rearcross marksmen.

Rearcross 'A': Sean Sheehy, Eamonn Devitt, Eamonn Wade, Tommy Ryan, Mark Hogan,  Liam Ryan, Robert Harrington, Matt Ryan, Michael O Gorman, Derek O Toole, Evan Gleeson Subs: Darragh Kennedy, Davy O Toole, Paul McGrath

Report compiled by Greg Kennedy