Match Results & Reports

Ballymackey 'B' 4 - Rearcross 'B' 1

Rearcross 'B' were the visitors to Ballinree for this Third Division League encounter and came out on the wrong side of a 4-1 score line against a strong Ballymackey side. Rearcross welcomed new players from Kilcommon for this opening league game and made a promising start, however it was the home team which proved more clinical in front of goal as Darragh Ryan Luke was forced in to action with a smart save in the third minute, but the hosts hit the front on eight minutes with a close range finish. Gary Ryan was unlucky not to pull it back level for the Slieve Felim team four minutes later only for the Ballymackey netminder to make a good save. Rearcross had upped the ante and were very much in the game for the remainder of the half and pegged a goal back on 27 minutes when Leo Ryan's corner broke to Brian Carey who headed to the corner of the net. Ballymackey took a 2-1 lead to the break after a good through ball was finished low inside the far post. The Rea Boys showed strongly after the resumption as Joey Nolan fired over eight minutes in while at the other end Darragh Ryan Luke was in the thick of the action with a double save. The Rearcross custodian came to the rescue again in the 58th minute with a superb reflex finger-tip touch to turn the ball over the crossbar. Rearcross kept plugging and were unlucky not to equalise when Leo Ryan got on the end of John Ryan's delivery with the headed effort barely wide of the mark. Ballymackey had the strenght in depth though and turned in a strong finish stretching their lead to 3-1 with eighteen minutes to play when a cross from the right was tapped home from close range and then further extended their advantage on 76 minutes. Credit to a visiting side which kept plugging to the end as Gary Ryan was unlucky not to get on the scoresheet late on. T

he evergreen Thomas Kennedy made his mark when introduced to the fray late on, Rearcross will regroup for next weekend's home fixture against Holycross 'B' to be played in Bilboa Sports Club.

Ballymackey 'B': Aidan Cahill, Martin Ryan, Gearoid Connors, Mick Haverty, Brian McLoughlin, Rory Mounsey, Shane Gibbons, Robert Ryan, Brian Freeman, Kevin Mounsey, Gary McCarthy
Subs: Robert O'Gorman, Liam Murphy, Thomas Hogan, Sean Kevin, Timmy Fleming, Damien Bentley

Rearcross 'B': Darragh Ryan Luke, Theo English, John Ryan Luke, Paul Ryan, Tom Hickey, Leo Ryan, PJ McLoughlin, Brian Carey, Andy Ryan, Joey Nolan, Gary Ryan
Sub: Thomas Kennedy for Andy Ryan

Referee: David Butler