Match Results & Reports

St Michael's AFC 12 - Rearcross 'A' 0

Rearcross ‘A’ faced the onerous task of an away FAI Junior Cup game to St Michael’s at the Cooke Park venue on Saturday evening and succumbed to a heavy defeat. In truth, there was only always going to be one outcome to this tie as the Rea boys got off to the worst possible start after been reduced to ten men with just ninety seconds gone when Mark Hogan was misfortunate to handle on the goal line, David Slattery stepped up to convert the resultant penalty. David Slattery then made it two nil on six minutes with a fine goal. The Rearcross forays were scarce but Darragh Kennedy did fire on target two minutes later but Derek Breen made the save. David Grincell got on the scoresheet on 13 minutes with a headed goal, Sean Sheehy despite the score line had a fine outing for the NT&DL side and denied Jimmy Carr with a fine block on fifteen minutes. David Grincell headed home his second of the evening midway through the half. Richard Ryan opened his account eleven minutes before the break despite the best efforts of Sean Sheehy. Rearcross faced a long second half against a side boasting seven players with Junior International experience, Thurles player Padraig Fogarty stretched it to six nil nine minutes after the re-start, Sean Sheehy was in the action again seconds later, but there was little the Rearcross custodian could do as the Saints pounced for a trio of goals in a three minute spell through Richard Ryan, Jimmy Carr and Padraig Fogarty. Kilkenny player David Grincell completed his hat-trick with seventeen minutes remaining before Richard Ryan and Jimmy Carr completed the rout for the Tipperary Town side to leave an evening to forget for visitors. Rearcross would have expected to have fared better in this David & Goliath clash and being reduced to ten men so early in the tie thwarted any hope of a reasonable challenge, the Slieve Felim side will now focus on their domestic campaign. Thanks to St Michaels AFC for hospitality on the evening and also a speedy recovery to Mark Hoban who sustained a serious ankle injury during the game.

St Michael’s AFC: Derek Breen, Mark Hoban, John O’Brien, Paul Breen, Chris Higgins, Colm Bargary, Richard Ryan, David Slattery, Padraig Fogarty, David Grincell, Jimmy Carr
Subs: Dean Thompson, Russell Quirke, Ryan Deere, Shane Murphy, Aaron Wall, James Walsh

Rearcross FC: Sean Sheehy, Mark Hogan, Declan O’Toole, Eamonn Devitt, Tommy Ryan Luke, Greg Kennedy, James Deegan, Eamonn Wade, Davy O’Toole, Darragh Kennedy, Michael O’Gorman
Subs: Darren Quigley, Kieran Devitt, Diarmuid Sheehy(All Used)

Referee: J McGuire

St Michaels AFC

Rearcross FC