Ann Kennedy Tournament Final 2016

Bridge Celtic(Clare) 2 - Murroe AFC 9(Limerick)
(Photos included at end of report)

Murroe AFC ‘A’ had way too much fire power for a Bridge Celtic side missing a number of regulars in a one sided Tournament Final played at Rearcross FC Grounds on Saturday evening. The opening exchanges were even enough as Darragh Ryan headed clear to deny the Clare outfit on four minutes. The game turned a minute later when a defensive lapse saw Liam Quinn take full advantage before prodding between the posts from close range. A counter attack followed as Shane Moloney fired on target, however Murroe custodian Adam O’Mahony was able to gather. Bridge Celtic got back level when Liam Morris was on target in the eighth minute and the final scoreline would not have been predicted at this stage. Murroe were dangerous on the offensive and a flowing move down the left saw Andrew Kennedy advance through the centre before rifling to the back of the net. Liam Quinn was then in a one on one position, however Ryan Morris tracked back to avert the danger. Ciaran Aherne was through on goal minutes later but the effort dragged left of the Murroe post. Bridge Celtic were still in the game at this stage as Liam Morris wasn’t far away ten minutes before the break. Murroe took a 3-1 lead to the break after Liam Quinn headed home from close range. Anthony Cusack increased the Murroe advantage five minutes in to the second half with a header after the ball rebounded off the Celtic custodian from close range. The Clare outfit reduced the deficit when Albie Lonergan steered the ball home with a clinical headed effort. The Limerick side restored their advantage after Liam Quinn converted from the spot to notch up his sixth of the Tournament. Bridge Celtic keeper Adam O’Mahony made a double save on 21 minutes to keep the scoreline intact. Anthony Cusack was on the mark again to give Murroe a 6-2 lead with a smashing left footed finish and then completed his hat-trick with a good strike seventeen minutes from time. It was one way traffic at this stage as Brian Quinn got on the scoresheet thanks to a goal at the back post and then Evan Walsh completed the rout after ghosting through on the right before finishing from the edge of the six yard box. Murroe turned in a top class performance on the evening while Bridge Celtic will regroup with players to come back in to the squad, best of luck to both Teams in their respective Leagues in the season ahead. Thanks to all teams for their participation in the Tournament, to Match Officials and to Rody & Ann Kennedy for sponsoring the Tournament.

Bridge Celtic: Adam O'Mahony, Donal Whelan, Noel Howard, Ryan Morris, Trevor Howard, Ciaran Aherne, Allan Lyons, Paul McEvoy, Shane Moloney, Jason Combley, Liam Morris
Subs: Wesley Fleming, Albie Lonergan, Brendan Nolan, Darragh Landers

Murroe AFC: Harry Ryan, John Humphreys, Darragh Ryan, William Clohessy, Ger Fitzgerald, David Rainsford, Andrew Kennedy, Evan Walsh, Liam Quinn, Anthony Cusack, Liam Breen
Subs: Brian Quinn, Adrian Ryan, Darren Dunlea, Greg O'Loughlin

Referee: John Hayes
Assistant Referees: Jim McGrath, Andy Hall

Player of the Tournament: Liam Quinn (Murroe AFC)
Golden Boot Winner:Liam Morris (Bridge Celtic)

Tournament Results
Golden Boot League Table

Murroe AFC- Tournament Winners 2016

Bridge Celtic - Tournament Runners Up 2016

(L to R): Jim McGrath, Paul McEvoy (Bridge Celtic Capt), John Hayes, John Humphreys (Murroe AFC Capt), Andy Hall

Murroe AFC Captain John Humphreys receiving the Ann Kennedy Cup from Rody Kennedy

Golden Boot winner Liam Morris (Bridge Celtic) receiving his award from Rody Kennedy

Player of the Tournament Brian O'Sullivan receiving his award from Rody Kennedy

(L to R): Denis Kennedy making presentation to Bridge Celtic captain Paul McEvoy