Match Results & Reports

Borrisokane 'B' 2 - Rearcross 'B' 4

Rearcross were slow to start and were nearly punished early on when Borrisokane shot straight across goal and went just wide. Rearcross were doing all the defending and were lucky when Borrisokane hit the post and the Rearcross keeper saved from an un-cleared corner. Borrisokane hit the front when J. Kenneally intercepted a mishit back-pass and finished to the net. Rearcross still playing below par started to get slowly into the game with M. Murphy, J. Nolan and PJ McLoughlin getting in shots on target. Leo Ryan was unlucky when he latched on to a M McLoughlin free and saw his effort fly over the crossbar. Borrisokane went two up when J. Kenneally again ran onto a long clearance and finished to the net. PJ McLoughlin had a shot saved on the line by a Borrisokane defender who was sent off and Rearcross were given a life line when they were awarded a penalty but it was missed. Rearcross started with more urgency in the second half and were unlucky with PJ McLoughlin coming close and Joey Nolan hitting the crossbar. Rearcross got one back when PJ McLoughlin headed to the net from a Leo Ryan cross. Rearcross drew level when Gary Ryan scored a great individual goal. Borrisokane had a couple of chances with the Rearcross keeper coming off his line to clear and the other was shot wide. Sean Kennedy made it three for the visitors with a well finished goal from 18 yards. Borrisokane continued to fight on despite being a man down and were awarded a free 20 yards out. The free was spilt by the Rearcross keeper but he managed to get a hand to the rebound shot and was cleared to safety by Liam Nolan. Rearcross went on the attack again with Sean Kennedy through on goal but was fouled with the defender being sent to the line. Joey Nolan struck the crossbar from the resulting free. PJ McLoughlin made it four with 10 mins remaining with a good finish to the net. Borrisokane had a couple of late efforts but the Rearcross defence held them out and it finished 4-2 to progress to second to round of Tipperary Cup.

Rearcross 'B': Thomas Kennedy, Declan Quigley, Liam Nolan(B), Martin McLoughlin, Theo English, PJ McLoughlin, Sean Kennedy, Diarmuid Sheehy, Leo Ryan, Joey Nolan, Michéal Murphy.
Sub: Gary Ryan

Referee: Tommy Lynch

Report compiled by Thomas Kennedy