Match Results & Reports

Holycross 1 - Rearcross U-13's 2

Rearcross U-13's trekked to Glenbane for this U-13 Shield first round game against Holycross on Tuesday evening and secured a hard earned 2-1 win over the home side. The visitors made a promising start and hit the front with just four minutes gone when Stephen Rochford set Patrick Dawson through on goal who kept his cool to finish with aplomb from inside the box. Rearcross remained on the offensive and Cian O'Toole wasn't far away with a headed effort from a corner kick. Cillian Kennedy linked up with Patrick Dawson on seventeen minutes, however Holycross custodian Garry Dwan made the save. Holycross turned in a strong finish to the half, Paul Nolan got back to avert the danger five minutes before the break while Stephen Rochford did likewise a minute later. A hectic finish ensued as Garry Dwan denied Patrick Dawson again and then the hosts came close with an effort which finished in the side netting. Rearcross got a dream start to the second half when a brilliant soo run from Stephen Rochford from inside his own half saw the ball squared from the end line to Patrick Dawson who prodded home from close range. The Glenbane side rallied after this and brought it back to the minimum after Stephen Quinlan's shot came off the crossbar, however Conor Ryan glanced through to finish between the posts. Rearcross were under the cosh after this and were let of the hook when Colin Morris made a penetrating run through the centre and was luckless to see his effort skim the top of the crossbar with eight minutes left on the clock. Colm Lenihan came close for the Rea boys near the end with a low effort which dragged across the face of the goal, however if finished 2-1 to the visiting side, Rearcross will now face Birdhill in the Quarter Final on this Thursday evening.

Holycross: Garry Dwan, Cian Hevey, Conor Ryan, Sam Quinlan, Luke Galvin, Brian O'Dwyer, Ben Hennessy, Colin Morris, Toby Lambe, Tom McGrath, Stephen Quinlan.
Subs: Adam Costello for Tom McGrath, Conor Ryan for Brian O'Dwyer, Dennis O'Reilly for Cian Hevey, James Shanahan for Conor Ryan, and Shane Ryan for Stephen Quinlan.

Rearcross U-13's: Cathal Kennedy, Aaron Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Sean Malone, Andy Kinnane, Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford, Eoin Sheldon, Patrick Dawson(Capt), Cian O'Toole, Colm Leniahn