Match Results & Reports

Borrisokane 2 - Rearcross U-13's 1

Rearcross U-13's made the journey to Borrisokane last Saturday for this Second Division league tie and fell to a 2-1 defeat following a brave performance. The Rea boys made the better start and came close five minutes in with a Patrick Dawson effort. The hosts settled as the half wore on and hit the front on the fifteen minute mark after Kevin Cleary broke through the centre before drilling a low effort between the posts. Rearcross re-grouped after this setback and were luckless not to draw level with a good effort from Stephen Rochford. The visitors were dealt a succour blow five minutes before the break when Cathal Kennedy did well to save the in-tial effort, however the follow up play saw Kevin Cleary bag his second of the day with a long range lobbed effort. Indeed, Rearcross were lucky not to be three nil down at the midway stage as the crossbar came to the rescue after a well struck effort from the edge of box thumped off the woodwork. Rearcross played with greater purpose in the second period coming close with efforts from Patrick Dawson, Stephen Rochford and Cillian Kennedy. The away side pegged a goal back with ten minutes to play when the ball broke from a corner kick to Patrick Dawson who rifled to the roof of the net with a fine effort. Cathal Kennedy added greater impetus to the Rearcross attack after coming out of goals and was taken down inside the box with two minutes to play, Patrick Dawson stepped up for the spot kick and struck a powerful shot on target, however Dylan Slevin guessed right and saved to send the Slieve Felim side home empty handed on this occasion, Rearcross will take heart from the second half performance with Paul Nolan turning in a sterling performance and will now look forward to their next outing.

Borrisokane: Dylan Slevin, Declan Moroney, James Hough, Fiachra Bond, Darren Moore, Luke Quigley, Conor Ryan, Sean Heenan, Kieran Kennedy, Kevin Cleary, Ruain O'Meara

Rearcross U-13's: Cathal Kennedy, Aaron Kennedy, Paul Nolan, Andy Kinnane(Capt), Eoin O'Connell, Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford, Eoin Sheldon, Patrick Dawson, Colm Lenihan,Cian O Toole

Referee: Callum Daly