Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-12's 1 - Shinrone 2

Shinrone made the long trek to Rearcross for this end of season league fixture in search of a result to clinch the U-12 Division 3 League Title, but had to battle all the way against a gallant home side before securing a narrow 2-1 win in what was a thrilling encounter. The Offaly outfit made the better start as Rearcross keeper Colm Lenihan got down well to save inside the first minute, the onslaught contined as Colm Lenihan was in the action again with a good turn over when the ball was dipping under the crossbar. Shinrone earned succesive corners as the home side were very much under the cosh at this stage, the visitors hit the front on the 20 minute mark when Owen Egan's effort from distance went all the way to the roof of the net. Rearcross dug deep after this as Cormac Sheehy prodded through, however the ball was cleared to safety. Cormac Sheehy had a fine outing and threatened again two minutes later after the ball broke from a corner kick, however the effort was stopped on the line. Shinrone picked it up again as Colm Lenihan & Eimear Carey combined to avert the danger. The Neill Ryan Joinery sponsored team put in a strong finish to the half with Andy Kinnane coming closest with a low effort which dragged wide of the post. A cracking second half saw Colm Lenihan save seconds after the restart and then Ailín Rochford showing great bravery to block the ball in front of goals. Rearcross might have snatched an equalizer midway through the half when Cillian Kennedy let fly with a looping effort which wasn't far away. The Slieve Felim side deserved to be back in the tie at this stage, but were dealt a succour blow when the League winners elect stretched their advantage after Shane Reynolds got on the end of a free kick delivery to head to the back of the net. Rearcross didn't throw in the towel though and were back in the game six minutes from time when Cillian Kennedy finished from close range. It was end to end after this as Shinrone held out to clinch the League Title in dramatic fashion. Congratulations to Shinone players and mentors on their League title success, Rearcross produced a fine performance on the day and will look forward to next season. Acknowledgement and thanks to Joe Nolan for his commitment and time with the squad during the campaign.

Rearcross U-12's: Colm Lenihan, Eoin O'Connell, Eoin Sheldon, Cillian Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Cormac Sheehy(Capt), Sean Malone, Eimear Carey, Aileen Rochford, Cian O'Toole, Andy Kinnane

Shinrone: Darragh Landy, Adam Cody, Adam Landy, Alex Chadwick, Simon Hayes, Shane Reynolds, Owen Connolly, Denis Cody, Shane Connolly, Sean McLeish, Owen Egan, Adrian Larkin, Dillion Dockesy, Niall Calvert

Referee: John Hayes