Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-13's 0 - Nenagh AFC 'A' 2

Rearcross faced Premier Division outfit Nenagh AFC 'A' in this U-13 Cup semi-final in Rearcross and turned in a gallant performace before eventually losing out on a two nil scoreline. The visitors won the toss and played with the assistance of the elements in the opening half, Rearcross made a promising start but it was Nenagh who took the lead with a Josh Keller effort from out on the left. The weather conditions deteriorated as the half wore on with snow and blizzard conditions making the game difficult for both sides. Cathal Kennedy made a fine reflex save on the thirteen minute mark and then the Blues fired a good effort on target which clipped the upright. Rearcross battled bravely against the odds and created half chances through Patrick Dawson and Stephen Rochford. Rearcross custodian Cathal Kennedy was in the action again with six minutes to play in the half with a superb reflex save to turn the ball out at the expense of a corner kick to leave Rearcross one behind at the break following a very creditable first half display. As luck would have it the snow and the wind disappeared more or less in the second half, although Rearcross made a lively start and came close with successive efforts from Cian O'Toole initially and then Brian Nolan's curling effort was inches outside the post. It was end to end at this stage, but the Brickfields side doubled their tally on 43 minutes when Cian Galvin pegged a left legged effort to the roof of the net. Rearcross didn't give up though and Patrick Dawson fired on target and then Stephen Rochford sent Patrick Dawson through but play was called back for offside, time ran out for the Slieve Felim side on this occasion as Nenagh AFC held on book their place in the decider

Rearcross U-12's: Cathal Kennedy, Colm Lenihan, Eoin Sheldon, Sean Malone, Danny Poyzer, Paul Nolan, Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford, Brian Nolan(Capt), Cian O'Toole, Patrick Dawson,
Subs: Aaron Kennedy for Colm Lenihan, Andy Kinnane for Eoin Sheldon

Nenagh AFC'A' : Anthony O'Donovan, Jack Hassett, Leon Kennedy, Lee Mowat, Aaron Walsh, Paul McLoughlin, Cian Galvin, Conor Byrne, Ruairi Connelly, Josh Keller, Adam Ryan
Sub: Dylan Morrissey

Referee: John Hayes