Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-14's 7 - Killavilla United 'B' 1

Rearcross U-14’s kept the momemtum going with a 7-1 league win over Killavilla United ‘B’ at Rearcross FC Grounds on Saturday morning. The Roscrea side had to travel with a depleted squad and fielded ten players on the day which put a gloss on the scoreline from a Rearcross perspective and indeed the hosts made a sluggish start failing to breakdown the visiting side for the opening 23 minutes but created a number of chances with Cian O’Toole’s effort clipping the crossbar on eleven minutes. The opener came when Patrick Dawson’s effort was saved, however Stephen Rochford followed through to dispatch to the corner of the net. Patrick Dawson followed up minutes later to double the Rearcross tally. The Rea boys took a three nil lead to the break after Patrick Dawson was on the score sheet again with a well worked goal. There was only going to be one outcome in the second half, although full credit to the travelling ten who battled gallantly and would surely have tested the home side with their full complement of players. Oran O’Connor crashed home his debut goal for the Club with a delightful left footed strike from just inside the eighteen yard box. Oran O’Conner then added his second of the day after keeping his composure to finish from close range. Cillian Kennedy advanced on the left before prodding inside the upright to give the Rearcross Quarries sponsored side a six nil advantage. The Villa Park outfit didn’t throw in the towel though and forced a superb save out of Cathal Kennedy with six minutes to play before bagging a deserved consolation goal five minutes from time when Josh Moloney got his name on the scoresheet. Stephen Rochford wrapped it up for the home side on the stroke of full time with a pile driver to the roof of the net from the edge of the box to copper fasten a comprehensive win for the Joey Nolan/Emmet Steed managed team.

Rearcross U-14’s: Cathal Kennedy, Eoin Sheldon, Brian Nolan, Sean Malone, Colm Lenihan, Paul Nolan, Cian O’Toole, Stephen Rochford, Oran O’Connor, Dylan Ryan, Patick Dawson, Danny Poyzer, Andy Kinnane, Aidan Bryan, Cathal Ryan, Cillian Kennedy

Killavilla United ‘B’: Joe Brooks, Josh Tynan, Patrick Feehan, Ben Simmons, Gary Shiels, Conor Phelan, Calin Byrne, John Walsh, Cian McLoughlin, Josh Moloney

Referee: Tony Canning