Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-14's 8 - BT Harps 'B' 0

Rearcross U-14’s were at home to BT Harp’s ‘B’ in this floodlit league encounter on Monday evening and romped to a comfortable eight nil victory. The opening exchanges were evenly contested but Rearcross had the better of the scoring chances with Oran O’Connor unlucky not to open his account. BT Harps were also having their moments and Cathal Kennedy had to be sharp to collect a through ball on the ten minute mark. The Templemore side had an opportunity to open their account on 21 minutes, however Paul Nolan tracked back to avert the danger. The Rearcross Quarries sponsored side counter attacked and hit the front when Brian Nolan scored with a fine effort from just inside the edge of the eighteen yard box. It was two nil on the half hour mark after Stephen Rochford laid off to Oran O’Connor who curled a smashing strike to the top corner of the net. The Rea boys took a three nil lead to the break after Patrick Dawson rammed home from fourteen yards. The game was over as a contest seconds in to the second half when Oran O’Connor broke on  the left before lofting over a faultless Kieran McElligiot in the BT Harps goals. Stephen Rochford got on the scoresheet in the 44th minute with a well struck goal following a Brian Nolan assist. It was one way traffic at this stage as Dylan Ryan converted from the spot to make it six nil. A low drive following a mazy solo run from Oran O’Connor nearly clinched the hat-trick, but the effort dragged inches wide. The BT Harps keeper saved from Andy Kinnane at the expense of a corner kick before Danny Poyzer stretched it to seven nil with nine minutes to play after getting behind the visiting defence to slot home with aplomb. Andy Kinnane copper fastened the win on 65 minutes with a superb penalty strike after Stephen Rochford was upended in the box to clinch the win for the Slieve Felim side wearing jerseys some 33 years old on this occasion following a clash of colours on the evening.

Rearcross U-14's: Cathal Kennedy, Eoin Sheldon, Colm Lenihan, Paul Nolan, Cillian Kennedy, Cian O’Toole, Stephen Rochford, Dylan Ryan, Oran O’Connor, Patrick Dawson, Brian Nolan, Sean Malone, Danny Poyzer, Andy Kinnane

BT Harps ‘B’: Kieran McElligiot, Jack Whelan, Nathan Russell, Patrick Moloney, Tadgh Quinlan, Dylan Hickey, Aaron Maher, Peader Hassett, Stephen Maher, Cory Morrissey, Darren Hough, James Fogarty

Referee: John Hayes

Rearcross U-14's

BT Harps 'B'