Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-15's 3 - Knigh United 1

Rearcross U-15’s got back to winning ways with a 3-1 victory over Knigh United in Rearcross on Saturday morning. The home team made a bright start and edged ahead in the 4th minute when Stephen Rochford headed a Patrick Dawson corner kick to the net from close range. The visitors came close with a good effort minutes later from just inside the box. A Stephen Rochford free kick wasn’t far over on the fifteen minute mark, Rearcross continued to press as Dylan Ryan’s header flew just wide. Cathal Kennedy advanced to gather cleanly on the edge of the box before the Rea boys made a strong finish to the half and came close on the stroke of half time when Patrick Dawson’s in swinging corner kick clipped the crossbar. Rearcross got off to a flier in the second half and doubled their tally after good play by Eoin Sheldon on the right produced a low cross to Andy Kinnane who finished with aplomb to the corner of the net. Knigh brought it back to the minimum two minutes later when John O’Meara’s free kick outside the box went all the way to the net. The game was in the melting pot at this stage as Cathal Kennedy advanced off his line to clear while Danny Poyzer and Paul Nolan were to the fore at this stage. The hosts restored their advantage with twenty three minutes to play when Stephen Rochford broke in from the left before sending a rasper to the net despite the best efforts of the Knigh custodian. Rearcross might have extended their lead after this and were unlucky not to convert chances through Brian Nolan and Patrick Dawson while at the other end Cathal Kennedy made a smart save to deny the visitors. Ryan Moser nearly got on the scoresheet in the dying moments but the keeper blocked at the near post to leave Rearcross 3-1 winners at the final whistle.

Rearcross U-15’s: Cathal Kennedy, Eoin Sheldon, Danny Poyzer, Paul Nolan, Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford(Capt), Brian Nolan, Cian O’Toole, Dylan Ryan, Patrick Dawson, Ryan Moser, Andy Kinnane

Knigh United: DJ McCloskey, Josh Glasheen, Shane Gleeson, John O'Meara, Darragh Tucker, Danny O’Brien, Niall Cahalane, Liam Hayes, Darragh Ryan, Sean Connolly, Ben West, Eddie Hayes

Maurice Walsh