Match Results & Reports

Rearcross U-15's 9 - Lough Derg 'B' 0

Rearcross FC Grounds hosted this floodlit league encounter between Rearcross U-15’s and Lough Derg ‘B' with the home team running our comfortable winners in the end. The Rea boys hit the front on 9 minutes when Stephen Rochford broke on the left before setting up Aidan Bryan who dinked the ball home from close range. The Lakers came close two minutes later with a move through the middle, however Cathal Kennedy advanced to smother the ball. Rearcross took up a two nil lead on 23 minutes after Eoin Sheldon rattled the net with a well struck shot from the edge of the box and then Brian Nolan came close with an effort that nestled in the side netting. The league title challengers made a strong finish to the half with Stephen Rochford and Patrick Dawson coming close, however an in form Aidan Bryan stretched in to three when the move of the game down the left flank saw a low effort go under the visiting custodian to leave Rearcross in the driving seat at the half time whistle. The Niall Ryan sponsored outfit were fast out of the traps in the second half and scored inside the opening minute when Patrick Dawson charged through on the left before rifling inside the post from a tight angle. Aidan Bryan completed his hat-trick a minute later with a neat drag back before drilling to the far corner. Next up was Stephen Rochford to give Rearcross a six nil advantage thanks to a twenty yard belter to the roof of the net. It was one way traffic at this stage as Sean Malone blasted to the net from close range. Patrick Dawson added his second of the evening from inside the six yard box. Lough Derg kept plugging despite the deficit and were denied a consolation goal with a fine effort which thumped off the cross bar. Cathal Kennedy got his chance outfield and wrapped up the scoring with a well work goal two minutes from time to copper fasten the win for the Slieve Felim side.

Rearcross U-15’s:
Cathal Kennedy, Andy Kinane, Cillian Kennedy, Danny Poyzer, Cian O’Toole, Paul Nolan, Brian Nolan, Eoin Sheldon, Stephen Rochford, Patrick Dawson, Aidan Bryan, Sean Malone, Ryan Moser, Colm Lenihan

Referee: Tommy Lynch