Match Results & Reports

Rearcross 'A' 1 - Ardcroney 1

Rearcross 'A' played host to a lively Ardcroney side this Sunday morning. In an exciting encounter the first real opportunity fell to Liam Ryan who struck wide by the narrowest of margins after being played in by Darragh Kennedy on the left wing. It is worth noting that this effort was from all of 25 yards. Rearcross seemed to be enjoying a spell of pressure at this stage when a half cleared ball fell to Greg Kennedy and his effort from outside the box was saved by the Ardcroney net minder. These two players came to battle again when Ardcroney Goalie was called into action and forced to tip the ball over for a corner following a free kick effort by Greg Kennedy. Good work and closing down by Evan Gleeson and Greg Kennedy forced Ardcroney into back peddling and concession of a corner. Rearcross may be slightly annoyed not to have scored at least one before the break. And that being said Ardcroney popped up with a goal. Although it was a mix up in the Rearcross FC rearguard nothing can be taken away from the finish. Swivelling, turning and striking in one motion to the top corner, a strike that the Ardcroney frontman should be proud of. Rearcross continued to pile on the pressure and Michael O Gorman shot came close to levelling the match in the 53rd minute. A tactical reshuffle took place with Derek O Toole and Tommy Ryan (L) being brought on by the management team of Thomas Kennedy and Frank Gleeson. Darragh Kennedy turned provider for the next attack and laid off to Declan O Toole who was luckless having his effort hit the post. With ten minutes to go and Rearcross bombarding the Ardcroney goal mouth, John Ryan stretched to force a powerful header home from a Derek O Toole free kick. Evan Gleeson then could have stolen the show after dancing passed 3 defenders only to have the tips of the goalkeepers fingers and the butt of the goalpost save Ardcroney. Tommy Ryan (L) then had a late effort but this was chipped over the bar. Rearcross travel to Nenagh next Sunday in which is sure to be first and foremost a battle for both teams.

Rearcross 'A': Sean Sheehy (Capt), Greg Kennedy, John Ryan (L), Eamonn Devitt, Paul Mcgrath, Darragh Kennedy, Robert Harrington, Declan O Toole, Liam Ryan, Evan Gleeson, Michael O Gorman. Subs: Derek O Toole, Davy O Toole, Matt Ryan (L), Tommy Ryan (L), Mark Hogan.

Referee: Jimmy McCarthy

Report compiled by Greg Kennedy