Match Results & Reports

Rearcross 'A' 2 - Borroway Rovers 1

A superb Michael O’Gorman strike four minutes from time secured First Division status for Rearcross in this end of season league tie against Borroway Rovers played in Rearcross on Saturday evening. The visitors enjoyed the better of the early exchanges and it took a great tackle from Eamonn Wade to thwart the visitors three minutes in. The Thurles oufit went ahead on eleven minutes when David McGuire got on the scoresheet. Rearcross got to grips with the game as the half wore on and a Mark Hogan pile driver was on target in the 15th minute, but Borroway’s keeper Gary Dunne was positioned to block. A Greg Kennedy free kick two minutes later was gathered on the second attempt by the visiting custodian. It was all square with 27 minutes gone when James Deegan scored with a smashing effort from just inside the box. Stand in goalkeeper Diarmuid Sheehy had a busy outing and did well to save from Seamus Woodlock six minutes before the break and then the Rearcross keeper was in the action again two minutes later with a parried block from Al O’Brien. The second half was a tight affair throughout as Rearcross threatened inside the opening minute when a back header by Darragh Kennedy wasn’t far away. The Rea boys came close again on 51 minutes with a good effort from Michael O’Gorman which was blocked out at the expense of a corner kick. Al O’Brien’s corner kick forced a reflex save out of Diarmuid Sheehy seconds later. The visitors had the ball in the net on 59 minutes but the effort was disallowed for offside. Rearcross were let off the hook in the 64th minute when Diarmuid Sheehy denied Keith Moore from the penalty spot after diving to the left to scramble the ball away. The Kennedy’s Bar sponsored side then had successive claims for penalties waved on but the all important goal came in the 86th minute when Michael O’Gorman broke through the centre to send a cracking effort from thirty yards whizzing to the roof of the net. Borroway Rovers finished the game strongly and it took another good save from Diarmuid Sheehy to keep Rearcross ahead in the dying moments to clinch a crucial win on the evening. Acknowledgement and thanks to Diarmuid Sheehy, Derek O’Toole & Declan O’Toole for their time and commitment with the team during the season.

Rearcross ‘A’: Diarmuid Sheehy, Declan O’Toole, Eamon Wade, Eamonn Devitt, Robert Harrington, Greg Kennedy, Mark Hogan, Davy O’Toole, Darragh Kennedy, Michael O’Gorman, James Deegan,
Subs: Kieran Devitt, Liam Ryan, Darren Quigley.

Borroway Rovers: Gary Dunne, JJ Gleeson, Al O’Brien, Paul Gould, Mark Shannon, Seamus Woodlock, Patrick Gleeson, Jake Moore, Shane Dunne, Pat Lawlor, David McGuire
Subs: Calvin Gleeson, Pawel Konik, Keith Moore

Referee: Naoise Lawlor