Cappamore Celtic FC

Early Days – In the summer of 1991 a small group of people from Cappamore decided to enter an Under 16 team into the Limerick County Schoolboy League, thus heralding the birth of Cappamore Celtic Football Club. The first officers of the newly formed club were Gerard Ryan (Chairperson), P.J. Quirke (Secretary) and John Mulready (Treasurer) with a committee comprising of John Devine, Davy Charles, Tony Dunne, Breda Dunne, Jody Carroll and John O’Connor.
The following year (1992) saw the club enter a Youth team in the Limerick District League. With manager John Devine on board and ably assisted by Jody Carroll they finished a very creditable third in their league; just one point off promotion. The goalkeeper on that team was a very young Noel Mooney who would later go on to play for Limerick FC, Cork City and Shamrock Rovers.
Another milestone was soon reached when in 1993 Cappamore Celtic FC entered a junior team into Division 4A of the Limerick District League. Due to the phenomenal growth of football in Cappamore, the club within two years of being formed now had teams at Under 12, Under 14, Under 16, Youth and Junior level. This was a remarkable achievement for a group of dedicated people operating in an area where GAA was the main sporting tradition.
Schoolboys/girls – Our schoolboys/girls have represented Cappamore Celtic with great distinction over the past 25 years, winning numerous leagues, cups and shield competitions. Many of these players have gone on to represent the Limerick County League in the prestigious Kennedy Cup and Gaynor Cup competitions.
In addition many of our players have moved on and experienced even greater success further afield. Michael Ryan (T), Trevor Cosgrave and Ross Cosgrave went on to win FAI Junior Cup winner medals with Fairview Rangers. Noel Mooney played League of Ireland football for Limerick FC, Cork City and Shamrock Rovers and is currently a Marketing Manager with UEFA. Currently, Tadhg Ryan (T) has signed a professional contract with Huddersfield Town. Shane Ryan (T) has also recently completed his training and received his UEFA B coaching licence. Shane is now head coach with Cappamore Celtic FC and the Limerick County & District Underage League.

 Cappamore Celtic FC – Limerick District League – Roll of Honour
Division 3 League Winners 1997/98 season
Division 2 Cup Winners 2008/09 season

Division 3B League Winners 1995/96 season
Henry Hurley Cup Winners 1995/96 season
Division 3A Power Cup Winners 1997/98 season
Division 3A Power Cup Winners 1999/00 season
Division 3A League Winners 1999/00 season
Division 2B League Winners 2000/01 season
Division 1B Calvert Cup Winners 2005/06 season
Division 1B League Winners 2005/06 season
Division 1B Calvert Cup Winners 2011/12 season
Division 2A Lipper Cup Winners 2012/2013 season
Division 1B League Winners 2013/14 season

State of play – Twenty five years after the foundation of Cappamore Celtic Football Club and the club is going as strong as ever and now caters for schoolboy, schoolgirl, gents and ladies football. The various Cappamore Celtic FC teams train on a weekly basis and compete in league and cup competitions. Two of our most notable successes over that period have been the Cappamore Celtic FC Junior team that won the Division 1B League and Cup double in the 2005/06 season  and the Cappamore Celtic FC Under 13 schoolboy team that won the Premier League and Cup double in the 2015/2016 season.

Governance – Cappamore Celtic Football Club is governed by a club committee comprising of an Honorary Chairperson, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer and committee members (x6). Membership is open to all club officers, committee members, registered adult players, parents of registered underage players, team managers, assistant managers, coaches and volunteers (no membership fee applies). The football club is governed in accordance with an agreed ‘club constitution’ and all team managers, assistant managers, coaches, volunteers and players are governed by a ‘code of ethics and good practice’. The club holds regular club committee meetings and annual general meetings.

Other Developments – Over the past twenty five years many other milestones have been reached:

1.Introduction of club award ceremonies
2. Race Night Fundraiser 2003
3. Introduction of club constitution in February 2004
4. Pitch upgrade completed 2007
5. Introduction of code of ethics and good practice (i.e. child welfare policy)
6. Dressing rooms completed 2010
7. Golf Classic Fundraiser 2010
8. Schoolgirl football established 2014/15
9. Ladies football established 2015/16

Sponsorship & Support: All of the developments, progression and achievements mentioned above would not have been possible without the very generous donations, sponsorship, moral support and good will provided to the club by the local community. Cappamore Celtic Football Club would like to pay special tribute to the local business community, who support the club year in year out with little or no gain; without  their financial support community based clubs, like ours, would cease to exist.

Cappamore Celtic Football Club are extremely proud of what the club has achieved over the past 25 years. Our aim, as always, is to provide a safe, happy and supportive environment in which the beautiful game can be played by all in Cappamore, young and old alike. We look forward to the next 25 years and to the challenges it will bring, the rewards we may reap and the memories we will make.

Written by Mark Kennedy (June 2016)