7 August 2023 | 2:45 PM
Sudden death penalty shootout win for Newport 'B' over a gallant Murroe AFC on a 5-4 scoreline

Newport AFC ‘B’ clinched a dramatic Tournament final win over Murroe AFC following a sudden death penalty shootout in this tight encounter played on Saturday evening at Rearcross FC Grounds. Murroe had created the better chances overall, but were undone by some fine goalkeeping either side of the half time whistle after David Kennedy was replaced by Stephen McCormack following a shoulder injury sustained at the end of the opening half with an acrobatic save at the butt of the post. Murroe made the first real incision in the 10th minute when Adrian Ryan’s effort was on the mark but Joe Shanahan cleared off the line. The Valley Inn sponsored side came close again on 21 minutes when Adrian Ryan’s free kick was well saved under the crossbar by the Newport custodian. Murroe kept on the offensive and came close again when Darren Dunlea’s effort outside the box was gathered by David Kennedy. Newport had limited chances in the opening half although a free kick opportunity on the edge of the box 18 minutes before the break looked menacing but the resulting effort was blocked down. Newport defended stoutly throughout and John Barry got back to make a fine tackle on Calum O’Shea when a goal looked on the cards. Calum O’Shea swung in a dangerous cross from the left five minutes before the midway stage, but David Kennedy showed great hands to make a clean catch. David Kirby was by far the quieter of the 3 keepers on the day but did well to quell the danger when Conor Brett's long range free kick effort landed in the six-yard box. Newport’s David Kennedy produced the save of the game after stretching full length to fingertip the ball away at the base of the upright after Jack O’Carroll had set up Brian Quinn on 44 minutes.
Murroe enjoyed the better of the exchanges in the 2nd half and Brian Quinn put in a fine cross but Stephen McCormack gathered to avert the danger. Evan Walsh was introduced with 20 minutes to go and made an immediate impact and was denied the opener 4 minutes later after getting the deftest of touches but Stephen McCormack saved brilliantly on the line. Evan Walsh was in the action again minutes later after getting on the end of Anthony McNamara’s cross from out on the right only to drive inches wide at the back post. The Limerick side will rue not opening their account during this period of dominance as Brian Quinn fired a free kick in to the danger area 3 minutes from time but Stephen McCormack advanced to punch clear. The sides were still deadlocked at the full-time whistle, so the outcome had to be decided on a penalty shootout, Pa Gallagher converted the first for Newport as did Brian Quinn for Murroe, Conor Brett then scored for Newport before Stephen McCormack got down well to save from Murroe’s David Rainsford. Newport’s Ben O’Sullivan and Murroe’s Adrian Ryan both converted their respective penalties, before Jamie Kavanagh’s well struck effort came off the upright. Alan Cuneen then levelled matters for Murroe AFC. Joe Shanahan & David O’Brien netted for Newport while Darren Dunlea was on the mark for Murroe. Evan Walsh stepped up for Murroe and was luckless to see his effort ricochet downwards off the underside of the crossbar to leave Newport winners of the 31st Ann Kennedy Cup Tournament. Well done to both teams for providing an entertaining spectacle on the evening. Thanks to Tournament referee Ray Ryan who had a fine tournament throughout and to assistant referees Mark Kennedy & Jay Ryan. The Golden Boot award was won by Conor Brett (Newport AFC ‘B’) and the Player of the Tournament was Adrian Ryan (Murroe AFC). Thanks to Joey Nolan for organizing the Tournament and to committee members who assisted with hosting the games. Thanks also to the grounds group for preparing the pitch with Denis Kennedy to the fore. Finally, our thanks to Tournament sponsors Ann & Darragh Kennedy for their sponsorship of the Tournament.

Murroe AFC Jamie Kirby, Des Keenan, Alan Cuneen, Damien Ryan, David Rainsford, Darren Dunlea, Calum O’Shea, Jack Barry, Jack O’Carroll, Adrian Ryan, Brian Quinn,
Subs: Anthony McNamara for Calum O’Shea (60th minute), Evan Walsh for Jack O’Carroll (66th minute)
Subs Not Used: Jamie Cummins, Andrew Kelly

Newport AFC ‘B’: David Kennedy, Shaun Bonfield, John Barry, Chris Carney, Joe Shanahan, David O’Brien, Darragh Meaney, Ben O’Sullivan, Colin Coleman, Conor Brett, Jamie Kavanagh
Subs: Stephen McCormack for David Kennedy (45th minute), Pa Gallagher for Colin Coleman (75th minute), Nathan Hartigan for Darragh Meaney (80th minute)
Subs Not Used: Odhran Brett



2023 Tournament Results / Scorers / Team Photos


Date Time
7 August 2023 2:45 PM