12 November 2023 | 10:18 PM

Away defeat for Rearcross ‘A’ in Ardcroney

Rearcross FC travelled to Ardcroney to play their fourth League Fixture of the campaign. Things didn't go well for the Rea men as they succumbed to a 3-nil defeat. Rearcross were below par throughout and the physicality of Ardcroney shone through. Rearcross found it hard to play any flowing football on the tight Ardcroney field. Rearcross FC went one nil down when an Ardcroney Midfielder struck an effort from 25 yards. This effort swerved at the last second to evade Cathal Kennedy in the Rearcross net. Rearcross played more football throughout but Ardcroney defended well. Rearcross had the best chances of the game and had two efforts blocked on the line. The best of these was when Patrick Dawson crossed from a wide free kick. After the Ardcroney goal keeper fumbled the ball, it agonising when across the goal line before a retreating Ardcroney defender cleared to safety. Stephen Rochford had the best chance for Rearcross when James Deegan sliced the ball through the Ardcroney rearguard for his brother Phillip to gather on the end line. Philly whipped the ball to the front post and an outstretched leg from Stephen Rochford but the ball the wrong side of the post. Philly Deegan got an outstretched foot to Greg Kennedy's misplaced shot from the edge of the box. This effort looped over the crossbar. Rearcross had a number of further chances from wide free kicks and corners but none came to fruition. Ardcroney were economical in front of goal and were awarded a penalty when Cathal Kennedy clearance was blocked down by an Ardcroney attacker and a penalty was awarded. This was dispatched successfully. Rearcross FC had claims for a penalty waved away when Oisin Kelly pounced on a bouncing ball to take it around the outrushing Ardcroney Goalie who crashed into Kelly before getting his hands on the ball. At two nil down Rearcross pushed forward and a loose ball in midfield in the final minutes was rolled into an empty Rearcross net. A disappointing display from the Rea men but hopefully the wounded animal can bounce back.

Ardcroney: T Duffy, E Courtney, P Hayes, L Dervan, S Doran, A Darcy, L O’Regan, L Doran, K Heffernan, J Daly, S A De Mesquita
Subs: L Heffernan, R Hughes, T Murphy, S Delaney.

Rearcross ‘A’: Cathal Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Stephen Rochford, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Conor Nolan, Patrick Dawson, Cillian Kennedy, James Deegan, Tommy Lyons, Eoin Sheldon
Subs: Philip Deegan, Colm Nolan, James Rochford, Paul Carey, Oisin Kelly

Referee: Robbie Nevin


Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
12 November 2023 10:18 PM