10 December 2023 | 9:17 PM

Away defeat for Rearcross 'B' in Killoran Park

Rearcross were on their travels to Killoran Park for a Second Division league fixture against Borrisoleigh AFC and went under on a 4-2 scoreline. Conditions were tough for both teams from the outset, but it was the Rea boys that made the early running as Eamonn Wade scored the opener with a headed flick from a David Brennan corner kick. Soon after Rea had a chance to double their lead when Oisin Kelly was taken down by the keeper who made amends with a good stop from the resulting spot kick. This had the effect of sparking the Borrisoleigh side in to life as Alvis Danko levelled matters and then James Devaney shot his side in to the lead with a well taken goal. The Congo Bar sponsored outfit were on top towards the end of the half and were denied when Rob Harrington’s free kick from outside the box hit the post and then another menacing corner kick delivery from David Brennan was cleared off the line.
Rearcross had a frustrating start to the second half as James Devaney bagged a quickfire double to complete his hat-trick and give Borrisoleigh a 4-1 advantage. Full credit to a visiting side that battled hard and brought it back to 4-2 when a great through ball by David Brennan was turned in to the net by a Borris defender. Rearcross pushed hard and were luckless on numerous occasions not to bring it back to the minimum, but it wasn’t to be as Borrisoleigh scored their final goal after Rea were caught on a counter attack as Mikey Kennedy got in to get his name on the scoresheet. The scoreline was flattering to say the least as Rea created more that their fair share of chances on the day. Well done to both teams on a competitive encounter in extremely difficult conditions. MOTM was Jamie Devaney.

Borrisoleigh AFC: Darragh Quigley, Adam Galvin, Paul McCormack, John McGrath, Fergus Murray, Christopher Treacy, James Devaney, Sean Shanahan, Dan Ryan, Kevin Maher, Alvis Danko
Subs: David McCormack, James Moloney, Daniel Fahey, Colm Boyle, Mikey Kennedy

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Eamonn Devitt, Mark Hogan, Eamonn Wade, Callum Wallace, Robert Harrington, Kieran Devitt, David Brennan, Donnacha O’Brien, Michael Feehan, Oisin Kelly
Subs: Colm Carey, Liam Kelly, Jayden Healy, William Horrigan

Referee: A. Kenneally


Date Time
10 December 2023 9:17 PM