24 September 2023 | 7:32 PM

Rearcross ‘B’ make winning start to league campaign 

Rearcross B travelled to Cloughjordan on Sunday morning for their first league game of the new season. Traditionally a tough battle for both sides, this game didn’t disappoint with Rearcross claiming all three points on a 3-1 score line. In challenging weather conditions, the tie started with both teams testing each other with long balls into space. Rearcross back 4 of Ger Nolan, Eamonn Wade, William Mackey and Eamonn Devitt were well up for the challenge, putting in well-timed tackles on the ground and in the air to keep the oncoming attackers at bay, with Brian Hammersley in the Rearcross goal commanding his area. Cloughjordan went 1-0 up in the 29th minute when Ed Heneghan got on the end of a looping ball across the Rearcross goal to put the home side ahead. Rearcross kept to their plan and some good work from Robert Harrington, Gary Ryan and Gavin Denihan in the middle of the field kept the pressure on the home team, with good deliveries to Matt Feehan and Mark Hogan up front. The visitors levelled on the 42nd minute when a corner delivered by David Brennan was directed to the net by the head of Mark Hogan at the near post. Cloughjordan had the chance to go 2-1 up early in the 2nd half when their striker was fouled in the box. The resulting penalty kick rebounded off the upright and was cleared out of danger by the Rea defence. The fresh legs of Nigel Ryan, Ger O Toole, Colm Carey and Liam Kelly were introduced to keep the pressure on. Additional goals from Gavin Denihan on 75 minutes and Mark Hogan on 83 minutes with good work from Nigel Ryan upfront kept the home side defence hard at work. Finding himself one on one with the keeper in stoppage time, Mark Hogan had the chance to make it 4-1 and complete his hat trick for the day, but unselfishly passed to Colm Carey who was narrowly offside. Rearcross B will be very happy with a hard earned but very valuable 3 points picked up on the road for the start of the new season. Well done to Anthony Ryan who did a super job in the absence of Paul Carey.

Cloughjordan ‘B’: D Mhlanga, A Bolton, J Freighery, A Brennan, A Wade, A Coe, D Armitage, B Gillespie, D Hayes, E Heneghan, S Hodgins
Subs: D Williams, D Costello, N Howes, M Quinlisk, J Ward

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Eamonn Devitt, William Mackey, Eamonn Wade, Ger Nolan, Robert Harrington, David Brennan, Gavin Denihan, Mark Hogan, Matt Feehan, Garry Ryan, Nigel Ryan, Ger O Toole, Colm Carey, Liam Kelly, Felim Deegan, Michael Murphy, William Horrigan.

Referee: Rory Kennedy


Date Time
24 September 2023 7:32 PM