4 November 2023 | 7:53 PM

Thrilling win for Rearcross Youths in Glenbane

Rearcross managed to record their first goal of the day after only 4 minutes when Taylor Light knocked in a goal from close range following a re-bound save from the Holycross keeper. The visitors bright start were rewarded again when Larry Collins was fouled in the Holycross area in the 13th minute resulting in a penalty. Callum Wallace made no mistake from the placed ball making it 2-0 to the visitors. The Holycross side managed to get over their poor start and as the first half progressed, they started to create chances of their own. A Holycross free kick on the 31st minute was sent in to the danger area where it was met with the slightest of touches from Daire Ryan to find the back of the Rearcross net. 10 minutes later the game was all square when Cian O'Connor found the Rearcross net from a fine strike just outside the area. Daire Ryan was on the scoresheet for Holycross once again on the stroke of half time making it 3-2 for the home side at the break.
The second half saw the visitors start brightly similar to the first half and with just 3 minutes gone after the re-start, Taylor Light scored his second of the day when his effort from the left hand side of the goalmouth beat the Holycross keeper. With the game level again, Rearcross sensed that they could take maximum points from the fixture as they continued to pile on the pressure. James Butler's fine effort after 75 minutes saw the ball fly over the crossbar, however with just 6 minutes left in the game, James Butler made amends when he ran on to a perfect pass from Luke Carroll and slipping the ball past the Holycross netminder. That was enough to secure a fine away win for Rearcross where they showed great resilience in coming from behind to take maximum points.

Rearcross Youths: Brian Hammersley, Patrick Kennedy, Jack Brett, Callum Wallace, Luke Carroll, Max Carroll, Patrick Ryan, Larry Collins, Sean Griffin, James Butler, Taylor Light.
Subs: Aaron Quinlan, Mel Sheridan, Liam Crump, Nicholas Dawson, Timmy Costello, Ronan Carrr.

Holycross: J. Ryan, C. O'Connor, C. Lohan, T. Nally, L. O'Sullivan, S. Ryan, D, Ryan, J. Galvin, H. Lohan, T. Ryan, C. O'Reilly,
Subs: J. Fennessy, G. O'Reilly, P. Garzio, S. Ryan, T. Ryan.

Referee: David Butler


Report by Dermot Hammersley




Date Time
4 November 2023 7:53 PM