8 October 2023 | 10:30 PM

Rearcross ‘A’ bow out of Munster Junior Cup by odd goal in five

Rearcross FC bowed out of the Munster Junior Cup last Sunday morning to Killavilla United FC. Having represented North Tipperary in the latter stages of the competition the previous two seasons Rearcross FC will not get this opportunity this year. Rearcross FC started sluggish and a very attacking Killavilla side started brighter. Rearcross FC found themselves 1-0 down when they failed to defend a corner which was headed home by Ray McNicolas at the back post. Rearcross FC gathered themselves and gained a deserved equaliser. Quick passing from the back line through the midfield saw James Deegan swing a low cross towards the back stick. Cillian Kennedy rushed in and slotted home. A very well worked team effort. Rearcross fell 2-1 behind when a mix up from their own throw in saw Rearcross squander possession deep in their own half. The ball then broke to an on rushing Killavilla's Dylan Treacy who made no mistake in slotting the ball into the bottom corner. Rearcross battled well throughout the fixture and Patrick Dawson saw his effort crash off the crossbar having beaten the Killavilla goalie. Rearcross defended well and frustrated the Killavilla attack, who found it difficult to get behind the Rearcross rearguard. Cathal Kennedy got down well to save to his left to deny Killavilla. James Deegan struck an effort from well outside the box just before half time. A rifled strike which dipped into the Killavilla net out of reach of the net minder. One of the best individual goals to have ever been scored at Villa Park.
Rearcross FC failed to defend a corner early in the second half and saw Killavilla gain a 3-2 advantage. Rearcross will be disappointed in the manner that they conceded the three goals. 3-2 was to be the final score. Rearcross did however create a number of chances, most notably late in the tie when Cillian Kennedy headed effort at the back post saw the ball nestle into the net at the wrong side of the upright. Patrick Dawson had a strike on target from a free kick but the Killavilla goalkeeper was able to make the save. Rearcross had a number of corners and free kicks but failed to convert. Rearcross FC were reduced to 10 men with around 10 minutes left on the clock. A tough defeat to take for the Rearcross contingent. Best on the day for Rearcross were the three Nolan brothers, Conor, Paul and Brian. Thanks to all the supporters who made the trip to Roscrea.

Killavilla 'A': Aaron Mulready, Dylan Carroll, Ian Treacy, Ray McNicholas, Dylan Carey, Craig Byrne, Tom Ahern, Darren Coleman, Josh Wynne, Michael Fitzgerald, Ben Lynch
Subs: Michael Ryan, David McNamara, Richard Fairbrother, Jason Fitzgerald, Craig Phelan

Rearcross 'A': Cathal Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Stephen Rochford, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Philly Deegan, Conor Nolan, Patrick Dawson, Michael O'Gorman, Cillian Kennedy, James Deegan
Subs: James Rochford, Eoin Sheldon, Tommy Lyons, Colm Nolan

Referee: John Hayes

Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
8 October 2023 10:30 PM