27 April 2024 | 8:34 AM

Luckless start for NTSFL U-13's

Rearcross FC Grounds hosted the meeting of the NTSFL U-13’s and the Mayo League in this inter-league semi-final on Saturday afternoon. The outcome of the game was more or less decided inside the opening 90 seconds after the Mayo side pounced for two quickfire goals, the first coming with just 15 seconds on the clock when Cillian Keating finished from close range This was followed moments later when Mark Rowley tucked the ball inside the near upright from just outside the six-yard box. Despite such a luckless start, the NTSFL side settled and created their first opening on 9 minutes when Conor Nolan’s effort from the edge of the box wasn’t far over the crossbar. It was proving to be one of those days for the North Tipp side when Dan Daly’s sweetly stuck effort thumped of the upright on the 20-minute mark. Further woe was to follow two minutes later when visiting custodian Rian Jordan saved on the line from a close-range effort. Mayo counter attacked seconds later and netted their third with a long-range lob from Calum Costello. This was a pivotal two-minute spell, as on another day the sides would be level on 2 goals apiece, but instead the Mayo League took a three-nil lead to the break, although a Harry Jones corner kick had clipped the top of the Mayo crossbar late in the half.
NTSFL gave it their all in the second half but were unable to breach a solid Mayo rearguard with Dan Daly and Kuba Bochnak coming closest for the North Tipp side. It was game, set and match thirteen minutes in to the half, when Calum Costello found himself in space just inside the box and finished with a neat strike to the corner of the net for his second of the outing. Anto Slabik scored with a fine effort before Sean Walsh copper fastened the win for the Connacht outfit in the dying moments. It was a tough outing for an NTSFL side which certainly didn’t get the rub of the green on the day, but will regroup for their next campaign with oodles of talent in their ranks. The Mayo side are wished all the best in the final of the competition.

North Tipperary Schoolchildren’s Football League: Jayden Delaney (Moneygall FC), Ryan Noonan (Lough Derg FC), Conor Nolan (Moneygall FC), Ciaran Matthews (Killavilla United), Donnacha Doyle (Moneygall FC), Bobby Kennedy (Knigh United), Mikey Carr (Holycross FC), Rory Ryan (BT Harps), Harry Jones - Capt (Moneygall FC) Josh McEvoy, (Killavilla United), Conor Nolan (Rearcross FC)
Subs: Kuba Bochnak (Killavilla United), Paul Williams (Ballymackey FC), Callum Fennessy (Holycross FC), Edward Bannon (Holycross FC), Sam Crowley (Lough Derg FC), Dan Daly (Ballymackey FC), Danny McGuinness (BT Harps), Tieran Casey (Cloughjordan FC), Tyler McLeish (Killavilla United), Jack Nash (Killavilla United), Cathal Lillis (BT Harps)

Mayo League: Rian Jordan(Straide & Foxford Utd), Michael Ruane (Straide & Foxford Utd), Fionn Jennings (Ballinrobe Town FC), Jamie Brennan (Claremorris FC), Tom Francis – Capt (Castlebar Celtic FC), Darragh Rafter (Ballina Town FC), Ethan Canny (Manulla FC), Mark Rowley (Swinford FC), Sean Walsh (Straide & Foxford Utd), Cillian Keating (Castlebar Celtic FC), Calum Costello (Straide & Foxford Utd)
Subs: Rory Gruddy (Straide & Foxford Utd), Mounir Soufan (Straide & Foxford Utd) Darragh Durkan (Ballina Town FC) Dan Duffy (Partry Athletic FC), Jamie Holmes (Westport United), Fionn Killeen, (Westport United), Anto Slabik (Castlebar Celtic FC), 

Referee: John Hayes


Report by Ger Kennedy


Date Time
27 April 2024 8:34 AM