14 January 2024 | 7:57 PM

Rearcross 'A' on wrong end of 2-1 scoreline

Rearcross ‘A’ welcomed reigning Premier League Champions Arra Rovers to Rea last Sunday morning. Arra Rovers started the first half twenty minutes with the majority of possession but were no real threat to the Rearcross goal. Rearcross came closest to opening the scoring in the first half when James Rochford shot from the edge of the box veered just wide. Rearcross FC had a number of corners in the first half but failed to convert. The score remained 0-0 at half time. Patrick Dawson opened the scoring shortly after the restart when good work through the middle saw his initial shot blocked but a quick bit of improvisation saw Patrick loft a left footed effort over the Arra Rovers goalie. Arra Rovers struck back in the next ten minutes with two goals. Poor defending by the Rearcross men saw Arra Rovers be much more economical in front of goal. Rearcross FC applied pressure for the remaining 25 minutes but failed to breach the Arra Rovers rearguard, coming close with three efforts cleared off the line. Arra Rovers held firm and physically matched Rearcross throughout the pitch making it difficult for the Rea men to make any headway towards goal. Paul Nolan was best for Rearcross FC bursting through the lines on a number of occasions. Not a good result for the A Team having played some very good football on the day. David Butler reffed the fixture and could not be faulted throughout. A good display from the man in the middle.
Rearcross FC will travel to Drombane next Sunday to take on neighbours Clodiagh Rangers in the League at 11AM.

Rearcross ‘A’: Cathal Kennedy, Tommy Lyons, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Eoin Sheldon, Conor Nolan, Philly Deegan, Patrick Dawson, James Rochford, Stephen Rochford
Subs: Paul Carey, Darren Harrington, Callum Wallace, Colm Nolan

Arra Rovers: Kevin Halloran, Jack O’Brien, Diarmuid Boyle, Jack Moloney, John Sheedy, Stephen Kennedy, Diarmaid O’Donoghue, Cathal O’Brian, Conor Ryan, Christopher O’Riordan, Callan Cottrell
Subs: Brian McEvoy, Robbie Creamer, Aidan Willis, H Hunt, Dermot O’Halloran, Aidan O’Dwyer, Luke Conneally

Referee: David Butler

Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
14 January 2024 7:57 PM