15 March 2024 | 1:33 PM

Rearcross 'A' on top against Ballymackey in floodlit encounter

Rearcross FC A hosted Ballymackey FC A in Rearcross on Friday night with the home side running out 3-1 victors on the night. Rearcross FC went one nil down against the run of play when a looping ball to the back post evaded the Rearcross defence and found its way to the back of the Rearcross net. Rearcross FC moved the ball well at times and were rewarded with an equalising goal. Patrick Dawson stepped up to the mark and drilled home for Rea after some good build up play from Brian Nolan on the wing. Dawson cut inside and rifled the ball into the top corner of the net from outside the box.
During the second half Rearcross FC got their second goal when James Deegan stroked the ball home after Patrick Dawson whipped a dangerous cross into the six-yard box. Rearcross deserved their second goal at this stage having had the majority of possession. Stephen Rochford, Tommy Lyons and Brian Nolan kept the Ballymackey rearguard guessing with attacking runs into the final third all throughout the game. Ballymackey tried their best to break down a resilient Rea backline and had a number of half chances. Cathal Kennedy in the Rearcross FC goal punched the ball to safety in the final quarter. In the dying embers of the game Robert Harrington converted a James Deegan cross to seal the tie for Rearcross.
Best on the day for Rea were Kieran Devitt and Paul Nolan, who both proved to be a thorn in the Ballymackey side all evening, not allowing any Ballymackey attack to gain momentum. Phillip Deegan in Midfield also ensured that Rearcross retained possession when needed. Well done to all involved!

Rearcross ‘A’: Cathal Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Tommy Lyons, Kieran Devitt, Conor Nolan, Phillip Deegan, Patrick Dawson, James Deegan, Stephen Rochford
Subs Used: James Rochford, Cillian Kennedy, Robert Harrington, Callum Wallace
Subs Unused: Gavin Denihan, Colm Carey, Oisin Kelly, Paul Carey, Colm Nolan

Ballymackey ‘A’: B Hayes, C Spillane, A McAuliffe, D Bergin, D McDonnell, S Cantwell, D Haverty, C Bergin, J Kenneally, D Moloney, C Maher
Subs: D O’Brien, R Kenneally, M Connolly, B O’Dwyer

Referee: TP Sullivan

                                   Robert Harrington copper fastens the win for Rea in injury time


Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
15 March 2024 1:33 PM