3 September 2022 | 10:49 PM

Rearcross 'A' play out scoreless draw against a visiting Ballymackey FC

Rearcross 'A' played host to Ballymackey FC on Saturday evening. Ballymackey travelled in large numbers with an array of youthful players on show. Rearcross FC got to grips with the pace of the game after Ballymackey started brighter. In what turned out to be a very tight encounter, both teams could have taken all three points. Rearcross FC had the ball in the back of the Ballymackey net in the first half only for the play to be brought back for an offside decision in favour of Ballymackey. Conor Nolan had a long-ranged effort saved by the Ballymackey FC goalkeeper. Rearcross FC had appeals for a penalty waved away when Conor Nolan was upended inside the area. Ballymackey had a handful of chances themselves in the first half. No game is ever going to be easy for any side in the North Tipp Premier Division this year and this fixture proved that. Brian Hammersley in the Rearcross FC goal showed experience beyond his years when asked upon throughout the fixture. Best save coming from a low block with his outstretched leg to deny the Ballymackey attacker who thought he was destined to steer the ball home. Phillip Deegan was unlucky after bouncing through a few challenges and forcing a save from the Ballymackey goalie.  James Deegan came the closest for Rearcross FC when he broke through the middle of the Ballymackey defence only for his effort to veer wide, agonizingly close to the corner of the net. One goal would have decided this tie, but it alluded both teams on this occasion. Rearcross FC pushed on for a winner. Despite a number of free kicks and corners delivered into dangerous areas there was to be no goal in the tie. Brian Hammersley tipped an effort onto his own crossbar before Greg Kennedy headed clear off the line late in the game to ensure the tie stayed at nil all.
Best on the day for Rearcross FC were Conor Nolan and Brian Hammersley. A clean sheet for the young netminder in his first outing in goals for Rearcross 'A'

Rearcross 'A': Brian Hammersley, Stephen Rochford, Paul Carey, Robert Harrington, Greg Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Kieran Devitt, Conor Nolan, Paul Nolan, Michael O'Gorman, Philip Deegan
Subs: James Deegan, Eamonn Wade, Nigel Ryan, James Rochford

Ballymackey 'A': Brendan Hayes, Warren Kenneally, Thomas Sheppard, Darragh Spillane, Christopher Ryan, Stephen Cantwell, Conor Sheahan, Mikey Hynes, Sam Rosney, David Haverty, Cathal Spillane
Subs: Dean Mounsey, Matthew Coffey, Kevin Kennedy, Josh Ryan, Sean Kenny

Referee: Jim McGrath

Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time Season
3 September 2022 10:49 PM 2022