9 September 2022 | 10:52 PM

Rearcross 'A' cruise to floodlit victory against Borrisokane 

Borrisokane travelled to Rearcross to play under lights last night. Rearcross had the luxury of a large panel for the fixture. A feast of goals for Rearcross but credit to Borrisokane who kept battling and created a handful of their own chances. Rearcross FC had a 15-minute spell where they played free flowing football in the first half. A number of good chances were created but the finishing touch did not come early for Rearcross. Phillip Deegan had an effort hit the side netting. Rearcross did manage to make the breakthrough when possession was gained deep in their own half. Greg Kennedy played the ball into Paul Nolan, who in turn forwarded the ball through the midfield with the aid of Kieran Devitt. After a phase of passing the ball was played into Phillip Deegan on the edge of the box. Bearing down on goal Phillip then slid through his brother James Deegan who finished to the corner of the net. A very well worked team goal with Rearcross FC displaying slick and effective passing. Rearcross FC scored four more in the second half. Michael O Gorman continued his ever presence on the goal scoring sheet by getting one goal. Phillip Deegan converted two chances, one of which was a long-range effort which curled over the Borrisokane keepers outstretched arm and into the top corner. Patrick Deegan scored with a low driven effort from outside the box after good pressing by Rearcross FC saw the ball break to him in front of goal.
Rearcross FCs defence stood firm and have Cathal Kennedy to thank for another clean sheet when he made a vital save at the very end to ensure Borrisokane did not get a consolation goal for their efforts. Rearcross FC made good use of their bench to ensure that Borrisokane never got any momentum.

Rearcross 'A': Cathal Kennedy, Paul Nolan, Eamonn Wade, Greg Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Conor Nolan, Kieran Devitt, Phillip Deegan, Stephen Rochford, James Deegan, Michael O Gorman
Subs: Darragh Kennedy, Matt Feehan, Patrick Deegan, Nigel Ryan, Colm Nolan, James Rochford, Paul Carey

Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time Season
9 September 2022 10:52 PM 2022