19 May 2024 | 10:09 PM

Rearcross ‘A’ concede late goal to lose by odd goal in seven

Rearcross FC A drew a close to their season last Sunday when they played the final adult fixture of this season. Rearcross FC A took on Borroway Rovers FC in Rearcross. Missing a number of regulars Rearcross pulled together a decent panel for the day. The Thurles Town side took to the pitch knowing that they needed a win to keep their title winning aspirations intact, whereas Rearcross FC had nothing to play for on the day. Rearcross made all the early in roads and got their reward when Stephen Rochford was hauled down on his way to goal resulting in a penalty to Rearcross. Greg Kennedy dispatched the penalty to the back of the net to give the Rea men a one nil lead. A poor start to the second half saw Rearcross FC fall behind to a 3-1 scoreline. Poor defending by Rearcross saw the home side fall behind. James Deegan struck home for the Rea men following a mix up in the Borroway Rearguard and got a second when he pounced on a low cross which caused trouble in the Borroway Rovers box. Borroway Rovers got the winner in the dying embers of the game when a well taken toe poked effort found its way under the crossbar and into the Rearcross net. Borroway goalscorers on the day were T Rykala, D Bourke, D McCormack and K Moore.

Rearcross FC would like to thank their ever-willing supporters who have travelled near and far over the last few seasons to cheer on whoever wore the Rearcross colours.

All at Rearcross FC would like to extend their sincere gratitude to Ann Kennedy and everyone involved in Kennedy's Bar and Shop over the years. All at Rearcross FC greatly appreciate the constant sponsorship, support and friendship shown over the many years.

Kennedys of Rea will now be under new ownership and all at Rearcross FC look forward to continuing our relationship with the local business and wish them the very best going forward.

Rearcross ‘A’: Brian Hammersley, Calum Wallace, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Kieran Devitt, Robert Harrington, James Rochford, Stephen Rochford, Patrick Dawson, James Deegan
Subs: Colm Nolan, Colm Carey, Darren Harrington

Borroway Rovers: M Mackey, T Shorley, C Ryan, C Loughnane, S Woodlock, J Moore, J Ferncombe, S Dunne, T Rykala, D Bourke, D McCormack
Subs: D Troy, K Moore, S Turner, E Hickey, G Favaretto, W Carroll, P Gould

Referee: Derek Halpin

Report by Greg Kennedy

Greg Kennedy converts the opener from the spot



Date Time
19 May 2024 10:09 PM