21 January 2023 | 11:05 PM

Rearcross ‘A’ come from behind to win against Clodiagh Rangers

In their penultimate league fixture Rearcross FC welcomed Clodiagh Rangers to Rea. Rea started sluggish and this was capitalized on by the Clodiagh Rangers players. Having failed to clear their lines David Butler nipped in for Clodiagh Rangers to make it one nil. Rearcross FC seemed to trudge through the first have with Clodiagh Rangers using their physicality to their advantage by utilizing long balls over the midfield area. Clodiagh Rangers have their goalkeeper to thank for keeping the fixture tight all the way to the final whistle. Rearcross saw out the half and a tactical switch by Manager Eamonn Devitt paid dividend. Rearcross FC had a number of chances. Greg Kennedy split the Clodiagh Rangers centre halves to find Michael O Gorman who forced a good save from the Clodiagh Rangers goalie. Brian Nolan had two chances also forcing vital saves. Robert Harrington ventured forward and following good wide play saw the ball break to him on the edge of the box. Harrington struck the ball goalward only for the Clodiagh Rangers keeper to parry the ball out for a corner. Rearcross FC finally got the equalizer when Michael O Gorman was brought down in the box. The resulting penalty was missed but Greg Kennedy stroked home the rebound. Eamonn Wade had a physical battle on his hands especially in the air. Wade seemed to be winning more then his fair share of headers throughout. Cathal Kennedy in the Rearcross goal was equal to any chances that got through the Rearcross defense. Accurate kicking from Cathal lead to a number of Rearcross attacks. Rearcross FC got the winner when James Deegan burst through the defence with a great turn of speed. His dribble lead him to a shooting opportunity from a tight angle. A composed finish saw Rearcross take the lead. Paul Nolan in the middle of the park seemed to be everywhere making vital challenges. Thanks to all supporters on the night.

Rearcross ‘A’: Cathal Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Eamonn Wade, Robert Harrington, Greg Kennedy, Stephen Rochford, Philip Deegan, Paul Nolan, James Rochford, Michael O’Gorman, James Deegan
Subs: Colm Nolan, Paul Carey

Clodiagh Rangers ‘A’: Adrian Cooke, John Ryan, Mattie Stakelum, Patrick Lowry, TJ Butler, Brian Hanrahan, Sam Van Dam, John Carew, Paul Doyle, David Butler, Paudi Guidera,
Subs: Danny Moloney Jack Bergin

Referee: John Hayes

Report by Greg Kennedy



Date Time
21 January 2023 11:05 PM