28 March 2024 | 11:51 AM

Four nil league win for Rearcross 'A'

Rearcross FC A put 4 past Clodiagh Rangers on Thursday Night under lights without reply much to the delight of the home supporters. Rearcross FC got out of the traps early when Greg Kennedy played the ball into James Deegan in the final third. Deegan got the ball out of his feet and curled the ball over the Clodiagh netminder. Rearcross FC moved the ball well throughout the fixture with the Midfield of James Rochford and Conor Nolan keeping the ball moving for the Rea men. Rearcross FCs second goal came after Conor Nolan battled hard to win the ball back for Rea. This led to a swift attack with Patrick Dawson heading for the byline. Dawson played the ball across the six-yard box to the onrushing Rea forwards. The ball struck a luckless Clodiagh Rangers defender and found its way to the back of the net. Rearcross FC dealt with any threat caused by Clodiagh with Philip Deegan and Paul Nolan winning their battles in the defensive line. Rea got their third goal when Patrick Dawson whipped an inviting corner into the danger zone. Greg Kennedy got his head on the end of the delivery to send the ball into the back of the net. Rearcross had a dozen more chances and could have had a lot more goals only for a number of great saves from the Clodiagh Rangers goalkeeper. Cillian Kennedy, Darragh Kennedy and James Deegan all had efforts on target. Rearcross FC got a fourth goal when Phillip Deegan secured possession before feeding Patrick Dawson who powered forward with the ball and drove into the attacking half. Paddy Dawson angled a driven effort low into the far corner, cementing Rearcross FC’s victory. Clodiagh Rangers had a few spells of possession and created a handful of chances of their own. Most notably a header from 15 yards out. The header was heading into the top corner of the net only for the outstretched hand of Paul Carey in the Rearcross FC goal to deny the Clodiagh Rangers attacker. Best on the day for Rea were James Rochford, Patrick Dawson and Conor Nolan.

Rearcross ‘A’: Paul Carey, Greg Kennedy, Paul Nolan, Phillip Deegan, Stephen Rochford, Brian Nolan, James Rochford, Conor Nolan, Patrick Dawson, James Deegan, Cillian Kennedy
Subs Used: Tommy Lyons, Callum Wallace, Darragh Kennedy, Colm Nolan
Subs not used: Robert Harrington, Gavin Denihan,

Clodiagh Rangers ‘A’: A Cooke, J Carew, S Stakelum, R Doran, J Ryan, B Hanrahan, M Carroll, M Stakelum, J Griffin, D Moloney, S Ferncombe
Subs: O Treacy, J O’Dwyer, R Treacy, M Browne

Referee: David Butler


Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
28 March 2024 11:51 AM