18 February 2023 | 8:17 PM

Rearcross ‘B’ play out 3-3 draw against neighouring rivals Birdhill

Rearcross B were at home against Birdhill on Saturday night in what was an entertaining game between the neighbouring teams. The well managed Paul Carey Rearcross side unlucky not to come away with all 3 points. The game started with Rearcross going 1 up after 2 mins when Gavin Denihan played a great pass for Aidan Bryan to run onto which he duly did and finished to the net. One minute later a long clearance from Birdhill bounced awkwardly catching out the Rearcross defence and Jack Delahunty was on hand for the visitors to finish calmly to the net to make it 1 all. Rearcross went back on the attack with Cillian Kennedy shooting wide and good play from Donny O'Brien found Gary O'Brien who’s shot also went wide. Birdhill took the lead in the 17th minute when they got past the Rearcross defenders with a good passing movement and Conor Hickey scored to make it 2- 1. Rearcross pressed hard for the equaliser with Cillian Kennedy and Gavin Denihan both getting a brace of shots but failed to find the net.
The second half got off to a good start for Rearcross when on the 53rd minute Cillian Kennedy found Aidan Bryan who fired home a brilliant shot to make it 2 all. The introduction of Eoin Sheldon proved fruitful when he set up Cillian Kennedy on the 76th minute who finished superbly to make it 3 - 2 to Rearcross. Birdhill pressed hard for the equaliser and were sure to have got it but for Aidan Bryan who headed clear off the goal line to keep Rearcross in front. However, in the 93rd minute Birdhill were awarded a penalty and Jack Delahunty scored to make it 3 all and that's how it finished. The Congo Bar sponsored Rearcross side played their hearts out and are hoping for a good run in their last few remaining games.

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Anthony Ryan, Mark Hogan, William Mackey, Sean Hickey, Gary O'Brien, Gary Ryan, Gavin Denihan, Donnacha O'Brien, Cillian Kennedy, Aidan Bryan
Subs: Liam Kelly, David Brennan, Sean Ryan, Felim Deegan, Eoin Sheldon, Thomas Kennedy

Birdhill: PJ O’Rourke, Mark McInerney, Emmet Floyd, Cathal Floyd, Paddy Kelly, Damian McCarthy, Colin Floyd, Colin O’Gorman, Conor Hickey, Jack Delahunty, Frank Troy
Subs: Kevin Coleman, Niall Duffy, Thomas Floyd, Paul Hogan, Jack Ryan

Referee: Shane Hodgins


Report by Thomas Kennedy


Date Time
18 February 2023 8:17 PM