23 March 2024 | 4:05 PM

Resounding three nil win for Rearcross 'B' over Borrisoleigh 

Rearcross ‘B’ welcomed high flying Borrisoleigh FC on Saturday night which proved to be a very entertaining clash. Chances were few in the opening half as both teams went toe to toe. The game sprung into life on the half hour. As a long clearance from Brian Hammersley was flick by Kieran Devitt, the clearance fell to Robert Harrington who passed to Michael Feehan and turned lovely and slipped Donnacha O’Brien in and he finished to the top corner giving the keeper no chance. The goal seemed to spur Borris into life as a long clearance from there keeper left them one on one with Brian Hammersley who pulled off an extraordinary double save to keep it 1 nil which it remained until half time.
Anthony Ryan's halftime team talk seemed to spur Rea on as they came out at the start of the 2nd half firing on all cylinders. Michael Feehan broke through and was clipped from behind for a penalty. Donnacha O’Brien sent the keeper the wrong way and finished to the corner of net. Credit again to Borris as they fought hard to get back into the match. On the hour mark they were awarded a penalty which they hit the crossbar. This spurred Rea on again following fresh legs on they upped the tempo following on from great play from Aidan Bryan on the wing he put through Dave Brennan one on one with the keeper who pulled off a great save. With 10 mins left Robert Harrington put in a dangerous corner to the six-yard box. Sean Malone was on hand to finish to the net to seal the win. Hard to pick any individual performance from Rea as there was outstanding performances from all involved

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Eamonn Devitt, Eamonn Wade, Sean Malone, William Mackey, Gavin Denihan, Robert Harrington, Kieran Devitt, Gary Ryan, Oisin Kelly, Michael Feehan, Donnacha O’Brien
Subs: Dave Brennan, Colm Carey, Aidan Bryan, Anthony Ryan, Paul Ryan, William Horrigan

Borrisoleigh FC: Gordon Carey, Adam Galvin, Fergus Murray, Andras Schllingloff, John McGrath, Rory Madigan, Dan Ryan, Thomas Quigley, Patrick O’Connell, Mikey Kennedy, Eddie Ryan
Subs: Darragh Quigley, Gerry Treacy, Patryk Wisniewski, Daniel Fahey, Christophen Treacy, Sean Shanahan, James Moloney, Alvis Danko

Referee: Michael Barry

Donnacha O'Brien converts from the spot to give Rea a two nil advantage


Report by Robert Harrington


Date Time
23 March 2024 4:05 PM