3 November 2023 | 10:50 AM

Home defeat for Rearcross 'B' against NT&DL newcomers

Rearcross B took on Grange Utd in this league fixture under lights on Friday evening in Rearcross. The favourites Grange, had the earlier efforts on goal but Brian Hammersley saved twice both from a free and a deflected Grange shot. Rearcross working hard, came close to scoring themselves when Willie Mackey crossed into the Grange penalty area, this was added to by Kieran Devitt who found Dave Brennan and Dave's effort just went wide of the post. Grange Utd again came close but for Anthony Ryan to clear off the line in the Rearcross goal. Grange did find the net in the 35min when a ball over the top was finished by D Brennan scored despite the best efforts of Eamon Wade and Brian Hammersley with calls for offside by the home fans going unheard. The away side scored again in the 41st min when a blocked free from outside the box fell kindly to the incoming P Tynan who found the net with his shot.
Rearcross had it all to do in the second half but got off to the worst possible start when they found themselves 4 down by the 55-minute mark after S Finan and J McCormack were on the mark for the visitors. An uncharacteristic mistake in the Rearcross defence led to the home side going 5 down after J McCormack netted his second of the outing. In fairness to Rearcross, they battled on and good work from Colm Carey and Dave Brennan saw their efforts over hit and the attack broke down. Grange added another to make it 6 nil thanks to a D Brennan strike. Mikey O Connell had his effort blocked for Rearcross in the Grange box only for it to fall to Mark Hogan and he hit the crossbar with his effort. Oisin Kelly for Rearcross had a good solo effort just go wide and Colm Carey set up Liam Kelly but his shot was saved. Felim Deegan put in two goal scoring saving tackles for Rearcross, but despite this Grange added a 7th when E Quinan got on the scoresheet and that’s how it finished 7-0 to Grange. A tough pill to swallow for Rearcross but Grange are a very good side, probably too good for the division they’re in but that's for a another day.

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Eamonn Devitt, Anthony Ryan, Eamon Wade, Mark Hogan, David Brennan, Robert Harrington, William Mackey, Oisin Kelly, Kieran Devitt, Gary Ryan
Subs: Michael O’Connell, Liam Kelly, Felim Deegan, Michéal Murphy, Colm Carey, Ger Nolan, Paul Ryan

Grange United: M Moore, T Abbott, M Quinlan, P Tynan, D Carey, S Finan, T Lord, V Cleere, J McCormack, J Dooley, D Brennan
Subs: C O’Donnell, D Power, B Kealy, S Dunphy, D Brophy, E Quinlan, D Daly, C O’Donnell, T Fitzpatrick

Referee: TP Sullivan


Report by Thomas Kennedy


Date Time
3 November 2023 10:50 AM