20 August 2023 | 9:06 PM

Gallant win for Rearcross 'B' in pre-season friendly

Rearcross ‘B’ welcomed Limerick side Herbertstown AFC ‘B’ to Rearcross FC Grounds on Sunday evening for a pre-season friendly and claimed the plaudits by the odd goal in three.  The opening exchanges were well contested with Eamonn Devitt back from a successful management sabbatical making an immediate impact at right full with some timely tackles and ably assisted by Anthony Ryan, Eamonn Wade and Gary O’Brien to ensure the visiting team were kept at bay. Rea tried to play the ball out from the back as much as possible and the tactic was effective to a large extent, Kieran Devitt and Robert Harrington in central midfield roles worked hard and were in control for long spells and were well complemented on the flanks by Tommy Lyons and James Rochford with some fine passages of play. Aidan Bryan and Michael O’Connell pressed hard up front but Rea were unable to breach a solid Herbertstown rearguard in the opening half.
The game was used as an opportunity to give all players game time and a range of changes were made at halftime but it was the Limerick side that hit the front early after the restart with a smashing first touch goal at the back post by Seanie Hehir. Herbertstown were on top after this and Rearcross custodian Brian Hammersley made two superb saves to keep Rea in the game. Gary Ryan was impactful for the Slieve Felim side during this period and good link up play saw Oisin Kelly unlucky not to hit the target. The Congo Bar sponsored outfit got back on par when Gavin Denihan picked up a pass inside the halfway line and surged forward before nestling the ball in the bottom corner of the net. Paul Carey nearly edged the home side ahead with a headed effort from a Gavin Denihan cross only for Billy Culhane in the Herbertstown goal to make a smart save. Michéal Murphy, Eoin Sheldon, Ger O’Toole & Ger Nolan also played their part as Rea continued on the offensive and came close with further efforts from William Horrigan and Oisin Kelly. Rearcross snatched a deserved winner late on when Felim Deegan netted with a fine strike from outside the box to seal a gallant win for the home team. Well done to all players and great to see a total of 21 players getting game time.

Rearcross ‘B’ Panel: Brian Hammersley, Anthony Ryan, Eamon wade, Eamonn Devitt, Gary O’Brien, James Rochford, Tommy Lyons, Robert Harrington, Kieran Devitt, Micheal O’Connell, Aidan Bryan, Eoin Sheldon, Gary Ryan, Gavin Denihan, Oisin Kelly, Willie Horrigan, Ger O’ Toole, Felim Deegan, Michéal Murphy, Ger Nolan, Paul Carey.

Herbertstown 'B': Billy Culhane, Aaron Hickey, Shane O'Dea, Mark Ward, Mark McGuire, Ben Murphy, Ciaran Mallory, Darragh Fallon, Cian McCarthy Colm Bermingham, Seanie Hehir, Jamie Sheehan, Kyle Murphy, Aaron Carroll, Johnny Driscoll. 

Referee: Ray Ryan


Date Time
20 August 2023 9:06 PM