14 January 2024 | 10:10 PM

Maximum points on the road for Rearcross 'B'

Rearcross ‘B’ travelled north on Sunday morning for this Second Division league fixture against Moneygall ‘B’. Spectators who braved the cold got value for their efforts with an entertaining 90 minutes of soccer which saw Rea claiming all 3 points on a scoreline of 4-0. The home side started on the front foot with forward pressure which was cut out by the Rearcross rearguard and midfield before it could cause any trouble. Rearcross targeted their towering strike force in the shape of brothers Mattie and Mikey Feehan who continued to cause trouble for the Moneygall defence through the game. It only took 8 minutes for Mattie Feehan to get his name on the score sheet after good work from Willie Mackey working his way out of defence and releasing Feehan who controlled and finished past the Moneygall keeper. Rearcross went 2-0 up in the 21st minute when Willie Mackey rifled home after a Rearcross corner kick was laid back to him just outside the box.
Gavin Denihan who was introduced at halftime didn’t have long to wait to get his name on the score sheet. His first touch one minute into the 2nd half saw him blast past the keeper to the top corner from outside the box to make it 3-0 for Rearcross. Moneygall to their credit kept moving the ball forward and were rewarded with a penalty kick on the 70th minute after two Moneygall attackers were allegedly pushed to the ground in the box in the lead up to a corner. The resulting penalty kick rocked the cross bar before being cleared away to safety. Rearcross introduced more fresh legs throughout the second half and finished strong late into injury time when good work by Kieran Devitt found Mickey Feehan who finished from close range to make it 4-0 to the visitors. Rearcross B will be very happy with a well-deserved 3 points earned on the road.

Moneygall ‘B’: D Toohey, T Teehan, W Jones, J Ryan, J Powell, T Sheedy, P Carroll, J Walsh, T Devereux, A Devereux, D McCormack
Subs: R Lewis, A Lee, T Kennedy, S Maher, D Coonan

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Eamonn Devitt, William Mackey, Eamonn Wade, Gary Ryan, Kieran Devitt, Robert Harrington, Oisin Kelly, Donnacha O’Brien, Michael Feehan, Matthew Feehan
Subs: Gavin Denihan, Mark Hogan, Colm Carey, Anthony Ryan, Michael O’Connell, Cian O’Toole, William Horrigan

Referee: A Kenneally


Date Time
14 January 2024 10:10 PM