19 July 2022 | 10:17 AM

Ann Kennedy Cup Tournament

Rearcross 'B' bow out after lively encounter

Rearcross ‘B’ contested the opening game of this summer’s Ann Kennedy Tournament against Murroe ‘B’ at the Bilboa Sports Club venue on Tuesday evening but bowed out of the competition after a spirited performance on a 4-2 scoreline. Rearcross showed strongly early on with efforts from Aidan Bryan & Gary Ryan as the early pressure paid off on 14 minutes when a flowing move involving Mark Hogan and Aidan Bryan saw Dave Brennan hitting the target with a well taken effort. Rearcross continued to dominate with Aaron Lenihan and Gavin Denihan to the fore. Murroe started to get a foothold towards the end of the half and Brian Hammersley was called in to action with a fine save on 27 minutes, however Murroe pegged it back level with an opportunistic goal, Murroe were on top to the end of the half and hit the post on 30 minutes.
Murroe pressed again early in the second half and Anthony Ryan, Gavin Denihan & Aaron Lenihan had to be on their game to avert the danger. Rea came close with a good effort from Aidan Bryan after a Thomas Kennedy through ball. The Limerick side edged ahead 18 minutes in to the half with a goal from a free kick and went on to dominate after this, extending their advantage with 5 minutes remaining when Brian Hammersley blocked but the visitors scored on the rebound. The Congo Bar sponsored outfit didn’t give up though and Declan O’Toole came close late on. A hectic finish saw Murroe bag their 4th of the evening in the final minute of normal time and then a minute later, Paul Carey crashed home the goal of the tie with a long-range screamer from inside his own half to leave it 4-2 at the fulltime whistle. Best of luck to Murroe ‘B’ in the next round who had their goal scorers in Evan Walsh and Alan Carr who netted a brace a piece. Rearcross ‘B’ will now regroup and get back to the training field in preparation for the new season.

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Gavin Denihan, Mark Hogan, Anthony Ryan, Billy John Caplis, Declan O’Toole, Aaron Lenihan, Gary Ryan, Aidan Bryan, Dave Brennan, William Horrigan
Subs: Mike O’Connell, Liam Crump, Felim Deegan, Thomas Kennedy, Paul Carey

Referee: Ray Ryan


Date Time
19 July 2022 10:17 AM