8 January 2023 | 8:27 PM

Hard earned victory for Rearcross 'B'

Rearcross B played host to Templetuohy in their first home fixture of 2023. Rearcross got in the early attacks but shots from Donny O'Brien and Aidan Bryan failed to find the net. The under strength Templetuohy took the lead in the 14th minute when awarded a penalty. Rearcross drew level 10 minutes later when Aidan Bryan converted from the penalty spot. Templetuohy took the lead again shortly after this when awarded another penalty. Brian Hammersley saved the penalty but the Templetuohy striker was quickest to react and finished the rebound to the net. Cillian Kennedy was unlucky not to draw level when his shot came of the post. Rearcross did draw level on the 40th minute when Paul Ryan put in an inviting cross which Donny O'Brien headed to the net. Just before the half Rearcross were awarded a second penalty witch Aidan Bryan once again scored to put the Rea boys 3-2 up at half time. The second half say Rearcross starting brightly with the Templetuohy keeper saving from an Aidan Bryan effort. Brian Hammersley was called into action for Rearcross pulling off a save to keep the Rearcross boys ahead. Rearcross should have put this fixture to bed on several occasions but a Donny O'Brien effort was cleared off the line and the away keeper pulled off two good saves from efforts from Cillian Kennedy and Aidan Bryan. Gary Ryan eventually found the net for Rearcross with a well taken goal on the 87th minute. Templetuohy were not finished yet and managed to pull one back in injury time. Rearcross held out to secure the win.

Rearcross ‘B’: Brian Hammersley, Paul Ryan, Anthony Ryan, Willie Mackey, Sean Hickey, Oisín Kelly, Donnacha O’Brien, David Brennan, Eoin Sheldon, Cillian Kennedy, Aidan Bryan
Subs: Willie Horrigan, Gary Ryan, Felim Deegan, Liam Kelly, Michael O’Connell, Diarmuid Rock, Damien Nolan

Templetuohy: Liam Ryan, Damien Cantwell, Eugene Davy, Rory Downes, John Doran, Oscar Croke, James Cavanagh, Steve Troy, Oran Moran, Ciaran Barry, Mark Kelly
Subs: Liam Kelly, Pat Meade, Paudie Gleeson.

Referee: John Hayes

Report by Thomas Kennedy


Date Time
8 January 2023 8:27 PM