2 November 2023 | 9:18 AM

Maximum league points for Rearcross U-14 Boys

Rearcross U-14 Boys welcomed their Ardcroney counterparts to Rearcross FC Grounds on Thursday evening for this floodlit league encounter. The hosts took the initiative to Ardcroney from the start and hit the front when good work by Ryan Quigley down the left flank saw his cross, find Jonathan Dawson on the edge of the box who teed up, before unleashing a brilliant strike that was too powerful and accurate for Ronan Hayes in the Ardcroney goal. Rearcross came close to adding a second after a Jonathan Dawson corner was whipped into the box only to evade the on rushing Rearcross players. Minutes later, a Conor Nolan cross from the right saw Jonathan Dawson pull a well struck effort just wide of the mark. Visiting custodian Ronan Hayes was having a fine outing and two fine saves from Jonathan Dawson kept the scoreline at one nil before the half time whistle sounded.
Rearcross got a pumping talk at half time and applied all the pressure after the re-start and doubled their tally when a Stephen Ryan through ball found Jonathan Dawson who dispatched to the back of the net. Ciaran McLoughlin got on the score sheet when he connected from outside the box with a well struck shot. It was all Rea at this stage as Patrick Carr was unlucky to see his effort saved following good work by Conor Nolan. Ardcroney keeper Ronan Hayes continued to impress with another smart save from a Jonathan Dawson effort. Conor Nolan’s pace was causing the Ardcroney rearguard all sorts of trouble and was denied by Ronan Hayes’s full stretch save after being put through on goal by Patrick Carr. Rearcross bagged their 4th of the outing when Conor Nolan was upended in the box as Jonathan Dawson stepped up to dispatch to the back of the net. Stephen Ryan copper fastened the win for the Slieve Felim side when he reacted quickly to a loose ball from a corner kick to finish from close range.

Rearcross U-14 Boys: Darragh Reynolds, Conor McInerney, Matthew Ryan, Stephen Ryan, James Costello, Micheal Collins, Shane Lee, Patrick Carr, Jonathan Dawson, Conor Nolan, Ryan Quigley
Subs: Liam O’Dwyer, Paudie Clifford, Leon Wallace, Sean Guidera, Ciaran McLoughlin, Andrew Hanly, Noah Brett

Ardcroney FC: R Hayes, C McLoughney, C Last, T Teefey, C Gaynor, H Gannon, M Cleary, S O’Meara, R McLoughney, J Meara, R McLoughney, J O’Meara, R Cleary
Subs: D O’Brien, A Fahey, H O’Meara, L Killackey, A Cleary, O Moroney, S Courtney



Report by Shane Reynolds


Date Time
2 November 2023 9:18 AM