18 May 2024 | 10:14 AM

Glorious Shield win for Rearcross U-14 Boys

Rearcross U-14’s completed a glorious League & Shield double on Saturday morning at a resplendent Villa Park Roscrea with a four-nil victory over Killavilla United ‘B’ in the NTSFL U-14 Shield Final. The scoreline wasn’t a fair reflection on a Killavilla side that turned in a strong performance on the day, but it was an inch perfect display by the Rea boys over the run of the game which sealed an emphatic win and that was especially evident during the opening 17 minutes when it was nip and tuck, and a goal for Killavilla United during this period could have produced a different outcome. Rearcross created the first chance in the 3rd minute when Shane Lee fired on target, however Kyle Connolly in the Killavilla goal, read well and parried to safety. Killavilla got on top after this and had the Slieve Felim side under the cosh, but captain James Costello and Stephen Ryan were immense during this period quelling any threat through the centre while Conor McInerney and Matthew Ryan closed down any attacks on the flanks. Rearcross keeper Darragh Reynolds had a fine outing throughout and used this area to full avail to ensure a water tight defensive display. The opening goal on 17 minutes came somewhat against the run of play, but it was a moment of individual mastery by Conor Nolan who weaved through three Killavilla players before dispatching a delightful effort to the back of the net with aplomb. This was the boost Rearcross needed as Ciaran McLoughlin followed up minutes later with a fine shot that wasn’t far away. Shane Lee then fired on target but the Killavilla keeper was equal to the effort and made the save. Billy Rooney came close to levelling for Killavilla but James Costello and Darragh Reynolds combined to avert the danger. Jack Hickey and Cathal Hickey played their part in the 2nd goal in the 27th minute when the ball broke through the centre and it was Conor Nolan who was fastest to react before prodding to the net from close range. Rearcross were on top at this stage and added a third when a firm tackle by Patrick Carr in the middle of the field saw the ball break to Shane Lee who drilled a low shot between the posts.
The O’Toole Electrical sponsored side got the perfect start to the 2nd half when Conor Nolan completed his hat-trick with just 20 seconds gone after the ball broke inside the box as the Rearcross marksman was fastest to react before dinking the ball over the line. It was an all-round performance from Rearcross on the day as Michéal Collins, Ryan Quigley, Leon Wallace, Andrew Hanly, Sean Guidera and Liam O’Dwyer, all made worthy contributions when introduced from the bench. Full credit to a Roscrea side that never gave up and tested the Rearcross rearguard right up to the final whistle. Thanks to match referee Ciaran Scully.
Rearcross FC would like to acknowledge and thank Killavilla United for accommodating the time change to allow family members get back for Holy Communion in Rearcross and for hosting the Final on what was a splendid playing surface. This was a memorable finale to a great season for Rearcross U-14’s. Thanks to all players & parents and to Team Management of Liam Nolan(B), Shane Reynolds and Patrick Dawson for all their work and effort during the season which culminated with a wonderful display in Villa Park.
NTSFL Secretary Ursula Scully presented the runners up medals to Killavilla United and winners medals to an elated panel of Rearcross players after the game, congratulations and well done to all involved.

Rearcross U-14’s: Darragh Reynolds, Conor McInerney, Matthew Ryan, Stephen Ryan, James Costello (Capt), Shane Lee, Jack Hickey, Ciaran McLoughlin, Patrick Carr, Conor Nolan, Cathal Hickey,
Subs: Michéal Collins, Ryan Quigley, Leon Wallace, Andrew Hanly, Sean Guidera, Liam O'Dwyer,

Killavilla United ‘B’: Kyle Connolly, Aaron O’Grady, Kayla Dooley, Dylan England, Cody Doherty, Luke Marks, Noah Steele, Kayla Carney, Billy Rooney, MJ Quinlivan, Tony Og Douglas
Subs: Jack Wright, Tom Moore, Henry Foot, Lucas Cleary, Matthew Douglas, Tomas Svaikovskij

Referee: Ciaran Scully

Report by Ger Kennedy


Date Time
18 May 2024 10:14 AM