4 February 2024 | 6:41 PM

Slender one nil win for Rearcross ‘A’ in Shinrone

Rearcross FC made the journey to Shinrone last Sunday to take on Shinrone B in the Tipperary Cup. Conditions were less than ideal with very damp conditions making difficult underfoot conditions. Missing a few notable names Rearcross FC took to the field and began brightly. Rearcross had a handful of chances within the opening five minutes. A man of the Match performance from Nathan Smith in the Shinrone goal ensured that the scoreline remained low. Patrick Dawson broke the deadlock after 35 minutes when he struck the ball low across the goaltender and into the bottom corner. Shinrone did have a limited number of chances and forced a goalmouth scramble in the Rearcross FC box on one occasion which needed goal line clearance by Greg Kennedy to keep the Rearcross Clean Sheet intact. Rearcross should have had a handful of goals before the break with Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford and Patrick Dawson all having efforts saved or shooting just wide. Colm Carey made a number of surging runs forward when he was introduced and got Rearcross into a number of dangerous positions. The second half came and went with Rearcross FC having chance after chance but failing to convert for a second time. Paul Nolan defended well for Rearcross FC and ensured any potential attack was halted before it started. Callum Wallace was very solid for Rea, while playing a number of passes into the attacking third. MOTM had to go to the Shinrone Goalkeeper making almost a dozen great saves on the day. Although Rearcross never looked in danger a few more goals would have settled the nerves. The game ran out with Rearcross winning one nil and advancing to the next round. Best for Rearcross were Paul Nolan, Conor Nolan and Colm Carey.

Shinrone ‘B’: J Calvert, R Lynskey, K Curtis, S Reynolds, O Keeshan, C Ryan, D Murray, A Deane, J Kelly, L Doran, D McLoughlin
Subs: A Brereton, C Bergin

Rearcross ‘A’: Cathal Kennedy, Callum Wallace, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Conor Nolan, Colm Nolan, Philip Deegan, Patrick Dawson, Cillian Kennedy, Stephen Rochford
Subs: Colm Carey, Darren Harrington

Referee: Gordon Harding


Report by Greg Kennedy


Date Time
4 February 2024 6:41 PM