5 November 2023 | 7:02 PM

Noon match impacts as Rearcross ‘A’ lose out to St Michaels AFC

Rearcross FC bowed out of the FAI Junior Cup this Sunday at the hands of one of the favourites to lift the trophy, St. Michaels AFC. It was always going to be a tough task for the rural club from Rearcross, made tougher by the fact that it was many of the players second competitive game of the day. Rearcross were up against St. Michaels who have their ranks swelled with the best footballing talent from all over the South Tipp and beyond. Rearcross denied St. Michaels in the early stages making a number of clearances and defensive blocks in their own third. A solid structure made it difficult for St. Michaels to make progress in the final third, despite constant pressure. James Deegan forced a save from the St. Michaels goal keeper in the early stages and Rearcross gained an attacking corner. Moments in the St. Michaels third came at a premium from the Rearcross FC men, with Darragh Kennedy also having an effort drop into the St. Michaels net minders arms. Rearcross FC defended well for the first 25 minutes but pressure soon told when St. Michaels took a quick corner which led to a back post cross. Conor Nolan blocked on the line but an onrushing St. Michaels attacker was on hand to drive the ball home. Rearcross FC held their ground until the 40th minute when three goals before half time saw what would have been an encouraging first half performance turn slightly deflated.
Rearcross FC freshened up matters in the second half bringing on three substitutions at half time. This coupled with a slight change in formation saw Rearcross FC attempt to bring the game to St. Michaels. Rearcross got off to the worst possible start and saw themselves falling 5-0 behind shortly after the re start when a free kick to the back post was not dealt with. Rearcross battled throughout and did break into the St. Michaels half on a few occasions but never really looked like converting. Patrick Dawson had the best effort of the day when his effort had to be pushed over the crossbar. It remained 5-0 for much of the second half before St. Michaels won a penalty in the last 20 minutes, which was duly converted. A final goal for St. Michaels on the stroke of full time rounded off proceedings. Best of luck to St. Michaels going forward and thanks to the Porterhouse for food afterwards.

St Michael’s AFC: Adrian Walsh, Dale O’Mahony, Sean Murphy, Paul Breen, Cian Fadden, Cillian Coonan, Jimmy Carr, Colin Bargary, Danny O’Brien, Ed O’Dwyer, Ashley Kelliher
Subs: Robbie McGrath for Adrian Walsh, John English for Cillian Noonan Joey Mulcahy for Colin Bargary, Shane Ryan for Ed O’Dwyer, Rhys Byron for Danny O’Brien, Mikey Nash, DJ Cremins

Rearcross FC: Cathal Kennedy, Brian Nolan, Paul Nolan, Greg Kennedy, Tommy Lyons, James Rochford, Phillip Deegan, Conor Nolan, Darragh Kennedy, James Deegan, Michael O Gorman
Subs: Stephen Rochford for Tommy Lyons (45th minute), Eoin Sheldon for James Rochford (45th minute), Patrick Dawson for Phillip Deegan (45th minute) Paul Carey for Brian Nolan (70th minute), Colm Nolan for Darragh Kennedy (85th minute), Cillian Kennedy

Referee: M Corrigan





Date Time
5 November 2023 7:02 PM