29 October 2023 | 4:58 PM

Rearcross 'B' bow out of Munster Junior Shield by odd goal in seven 

Rearcross B travelled to Thurles for this Munster Junior Shield fixture. Rearcross B with a panel of 16 were the first to get on the score sheet in the 14th minute when good work from Colm Carey down the wing pulled the ball across the box to Dave Brennan who finished well to put the away side one up. Thurles equalised when Joe Curry-Hennessy received the ball on the six-yard box and with a sharp turn finished to net at the far post. Both sides were playing attacking football, but it was Thurles who went 2-1 up when Tommy Brophy capitalised on a mis-hit clearance inside the Rearcross goal area. Jim Caplis in the Rearcross net made a super save from a Thurles shot which took a deflection and was goal bound but for Jim's save. Rearcross now with work to do found the equaliser through Oisin Kelly when he chased down a through ball into the Thurles box and finished to the net. Dave Brennan was unlucky not to make it three after good work but for his shot to go wide of the post. However just before halftime Dave Brennan found the net with a super strike after being set up by Paul Carey to put the visitors 3 - 2 up at half time.
Fifteen minutes into the second half a Thurles corner broke to Andras Schllingloff at the back post who scored to make it 3 all. Rearcross were fighting hard to get up to the same tempo as they played in the first half but were dealt a blow in the 71st minute when Tommy Brophy managed to get half a yard on the Rearcross defence to make it 4 - 3. Thurles were unlucky not to make it 5 - 3 when a well hit effort on the counter attack came off the post. Rearcross were not without their efforts on goal too from Dave Brennan, Oisin Kelly, Liam Kelly and Rob Harrington, but failed to find the target. It finished 4-3 to the home side leaving Paul Carey's Rearcross team very disappointed, but they can take a lot of positives from the game.

Thurles Town: G Carey, A Schllingloff, D Gayson, C O’Brien, G O’Connor, C Ryan, R Madigan, P Wisniewski, T Brophy, T Quigley, J Curry-Hennessy
Subs: J Wetton, P McNamara, S Shorley, E Delaney, J Gooney, P Ryan, J Bolger

Rearcross ‘B’: Jim Caplis, Ger Nolan Eamonn Wade, Anthony Ryan, Eamonn Devitt, Colm Carey, Gary Ryan, Robert Harrington, David Brennan, Oisin Kelly, Paul Carey
Subs: Liam Kelly for Gary Ryan, Brian Hammersley for Colm Carey, Michael O'Connell, Thomas Kennedy

Referee: Rory Kennedy


Report by Thomas Kennedy


Date Time
29 October 2023 4:58 PM