Hollyford FC

Hollyford FC was founded in 1994. Founding members included John Shiels, Joe Ryan (S) and TJ Moloney. Due to the success of the Irish soccer team during the 1990 and 1994 World Cups, interest began to grow around the locality and the decision was made to organise a team and put it forward to take part in the Division 4 of the TSDL (Tipperary South & District League) that year.

In the first year, Hollyford FC played in the TSDL. The team played many games in the Cappawhite Tournament which was organised by Eugene MaGuire & Johnny Breen. This led to all Hollyford FC home games being held in Cappawhite up until 2000. Also in the first year, Eugene MaGuire won player of the year in Division 4.

The following year, Hollyford FC won the Kennedy Cup Rearcross Tournament, beating Newport 2-0 in the final. Goals were scored by Dinny Healy and Johnny Butler. At Christmas in 1996, the team made it to the 3rd round of the Munster Junior Cup beating Kilsheelan who were in the 2nd Division of the TSDL. That same year after coming second to Ballybacon-Grange, Hollyford FC were promoted to Division 3. In the 1998/99 season, the club won the 3rd Division Shield, beating Mullinahone 2-0 in the final which was played in Cahir.

In 1999/00 Hollyford FC developed their new pitch at the Ponda Rosa, Annacarty. In the same year in the Munster Cup, they reached the quarter final by beating Cashel (Division 1) 4-3, beating Bansha (Premier Division) 4-1 and finally losing to Clonmel Town 1-0

In 2000/01 Hollyford FC won the Peter Reilly Cup (Peter Reilly Cup is a perpetual cup between 2 divisions). From 2001 to 2006 Hollyford continued to play in the Division 3 Cup and in 2006 they won Division 3 Shield Cup by beating Wilderness Rovers 2-1 in Bansha.

Hollyford FC’s final year was 2007/08. The Club finished up after fourteen years and we would like to thank all our sponsors over our years of playing. Thanks to Jim Ryan, Hollyford Inn, Marie Kelly’s Bar, Cappawhite, Joe O’Connell’s Bar, Hollyford, Ponda Rosa, Annacarty, Tom Stapleton and Frank Ryan Car Sales. Thanks also to everyone involved in the running of the club and to our Managers Jim Ryan (Rue), T.J. Moloney, James Fahey, Kathleen Fahey, Finbarr Ryan, Liam Mooney, Eugene MaGuire, John Shiels John Gilsey Aherne, Phil Ward, Philly Keaty and Johnny Halpin

                                                                                        Hollyford FC 1996/1997                                                                              Back Row (L to R) John Aherne (Manager), Aidan Murphy, Cathal Dunne, Paul Ryan, JJ Ryan (S), Niall Creedon, Liam Mooney, Joe Ryan (S), Walter Corbett, Brendan Carr                                                                                                                                          Front Row (L to R) Michael Ryan (S), Sean O’Dwyer, Johnny Butler, Ger Griffin, Donnacha Horan, George Fahey, John Shiels