Lucky Numbers

From Showband to Soccer was the how it evolved for a gallant Lucky Numbers team which played in Rearcross tournaments and other local Tournaments in the early eighties. The team base was in Portnard Cappamore with Shay Fyffe their organizer in chief. Lucky Numbers played in a number of local tournaments at that time and recorded a memorable Rearcross tournament win in 1984 defeating Croughlahan Rovers in the final on a narrow one nil scoreline, the game was played in Quigley’s field across the road from Kennedy’s Shop, scenes of great jubilation unfolded at the final whistle.

Written by Ger Kennedy (July 2016)


Lucky Numbers – Rearcross Tournament Winners 1984/85Back Row (L to R): Mossy Hynan, Tommy Ryan(N), Joe Burke, Shay Fyffe, David Ryan(M), Mike Cunningham,
Dinny Murphy, John Mackey
Front Row (L to R): Eamonn Mulcahy, Donal McKenna, Andy Murphy, Dan Shanahan, Tony Mackey,