Rearcross Celtic Soccer Club recently applied for membership of the North Tipperary League and were accepted. The team played their first game last Sunday week in the first leg of the shield and were defeated 4-2 by Ballinaclough. Local scorers were Johnny Fahey and Gerry O’Toole. In the return leg, played last Sunday, Rearcoss won 4-3. Our scorers were Gerry O’Toole, 2 and Johnny Fahy. The local lads can be well pleased with the start they have made to their campaign.
The Club wishes to thank Mr Seamus O’Toole, Builder, Newport and a native of Rearcross, who has sponsored the team jerseys and Mr Rody Kennedy, local businessman who has sponsored a football.


Birdhill Soccer Club
For the first time Birdhill will this year be represented in the North Tipperary Soccer League. At a recent meeting the officers of the club for the first year were: Chairman, Michael Redmond; Secretary Damien Ryan; Treasurer, Edward Bourke.
Manager and trainer of the team is Michael Redmond. The Club wishes to thank its sponsors: Joseph Ryan(White Cockatoo) and Michael Redmond, as well as Lancelot Ryan, Cooleen, for providing a playing field. The team had an unfortunate first outing against Borroway ‘B’in the Division 2 Shield when a depleted team went down by six goals to nil. However they atoned for this defeat in the second leg last Sunday when they defeated the same team in the away leg by five goals to four. Birdhill fell 4-1 behind at one stage in the second half but stormed back to snatch a late winner. Scorers were Tommy Bourke, Tony Doolan, Frank Gleeson, Declan O’Brien and Tim Floyd.
Birdhill: Kieran Ryan, Richard Ryan, Damien Ryan, Sean O’Brien, Eoin McKeogh, Philip Doherty, Anthony Floyd, Tony Doolan, Christy Hogan, Tim Floyd, Tommy Bourke. Subs: Frank Gleeson and Declan O’Brien.